I may not know the rules well enough but it looks to me that he takes 3 steps and then complains after wards saying how he reviewed it and it was all perfectly legal. What do you guys think ? I couldn't find a youtube clip but its on the side clip of this espn site(slow mo near end) http://sports.espn.go.com/nba/recap?gameId=290104027
He usually always travels. He takes atleast 4 steps then jumps on the 5th one. But this time he did not travel. That was a bad call. Sometimes it looks like he does because he takes really big steps. But this was a bad call. He takes 3 steps but he jumps on the 3rd step. That is allowed. Funny how he always travels and they never call it, but the one time he didn't travel, they call it.
If you are dribbling and you pick up your dribble on the way to the basket, you are allowed to jump ON the 3rd step. So technically you take two steps then jump. When you watch it in slow-mo you see that he jumped on the 3rd step. If you watch it in normal speed it looks like he takes 4 steps but thats just because of how he moved around the defender. I'm not defending lebrons traveling tendencies, he gets away with it way too much, i'm just saying this instance was a bad call. He did not travel.
Any officiating experts in here? The way I see it, according to rules it's up to some interpretation. For it to go James's way you will have to say that the step he took when he gathering the ball (ball goes from the floor to his left hand to his right in one motion) was part of the the dribble (i.e. his non pivot foot left the floor before the ball touched his left hand) and then he got his one-two after he gathered the ball. Another interpretation can be after he got the ball, he took a one two (changed his pivot foot twice) and that the "last step" is merely part of his shot (no pivot foot changing). It's kinda fast and the call could be borderline. I really don't know. BTW, here is the rules from NBA.com http://www.nba.com/features/misunderstoodrules_051128.html To start a dribble, the ball must be released from a player’s hand before his pivot foot leaves the floor or he has committed a traveling violation. A player who receives the ball while in progress or upon completing his dribble is allowed a one-two count after gathering the ball and preparing to stop, pass or shoot.
LeBron sucks, he can't even beat the Rockets without the Refs. hahahaha I'm glad they actually called something on him and they lost to a bad Wizards team just like we did.
that game winner against wizard was DEFINITELY a travel.. not sure about this one, haven't seen the clip
I was always under the impression when I play that when they say you only get two steps that you have to jump on the the second one. What I thought was he gathered it in to his left hand while on his left foot and then went right, left, right(travel) Yeah we need another rule expert in here...no offense blade I always like second opinions just in case
I think it was a travel. They showed the replay on ESPN in slow motion and he dribbled, took one step, jumped, and took two more steps going up for the layup
He picks up his dribble takes one step in wich he jumps(Kind of like a jump stop) He then lands with both feet, takes another full step toward the basket and goes up for the lay-up. He went from the top of the FT line to the basket with out dribbling. Travel. Easy call.
<object width="480" height="295"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/zC-sqY2HAQM&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/zC-sqY2HAQM&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="295"></embed></object> Don't know if it's embedded in high quality. You can see it near the end.
Please explain? So you are saying that you can take 2 steps, and jump into a 3rd step, then shoot? What do you mean by "jump" on the 3rd step? Is it a jump landing on both feet? Because if it is a "jump" landing on one foot then isnt it just a step?
He gathered the ball, jumped and landed with both feet. Now either foot can be the pivot foot, he can use another step but not two.