1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

IPOD Question

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by Moe, Dec 26, 2006.

Tags:
  1. Moe

Moe Contributing Member

I bought my daughter in IPOD for Christmas. We figured out how to download cd's fairly easily and some other songs on her computer. It appears that each time you synch up the IPOD, it adds any new songs in the library, but deletes any songs from the IPOD that have been deleted from the library. Therefore, you have to keep everything on your computer that you want kept on the IPOD. Is there any way around this? She would like to delete the songs from her computer once they are on the IPOD, but it is also taking them off the IPOD.

2. R0ckets03

R0ckets03 Contributing Member

I'm no expert, but I believe their is a setting in Itunes, where you can select to update only a few files. So just save the new songs in a separte file. So that way when you are syncing, the old songs will remain because you are only updating new files.

I think.

3. Moe

Moe Contributing Member

Thanks, 03. Any idea where to look for the setting?

4. redefined

redefined Contributing Member

That's exactly right. It's such a stupid default feature because I lost my entire library twice because of this. But this was way back in '02. Here you go my laggard friend :p

Itunes - Edit - Preferences - Ipod - click Manually manage songs and playlists

5. wesnesked

wesnesked Contributing Member

I know when I first plugged my new ipod into my computer it asked if I wanted it to sync automaticaly, which I chose not to, just for that instance. When you plug your Ipod in there should be a summary screen that pops up. One of the check marks under options is to manually manage music, which you should check.

6. A_3PO

A_3PO Member