1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Interesting NBA rules scenario

Discussion in 'NBA Dish' started by T-2, Jan 18, 2009.

Tags:
?

If a dunker's hands are still on the ball as shot clock expires, is it a violation?

Poll closed Jan 23, 2009.
  1. Yes.

    65 vote(s)
    58.6%
  2. Only if the ball has not crossed any part of the plane of the rim.

    21 vote(s)
    18.9%
  3. Only if the ball has not crossed halfway through.

    9 vote(s)
    8.1%
  4. Only if the ball is not fully through the rim.

    16 vote(s)
    14.4%
  1. T-2

    T-2 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    8
    Last night, Landry dunked a rebound in with absolutely no time left in the shot clock. From what I saw, in the video frame in which the shot clock turned zero, Landry's hands were still firmly planted on the ball, thus Miami's coaching staff waved frantically on the sidelines for a shot clock violation. The referees let the play stand though, two points.

    Bad no call, right?

    Here's the catch. The dunked ball was now precisely halfway down the rim - it had crossed the plane of the rim halfway.

    You make the call!
     
  2. bronxfan

    bronxfan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24

    didn't see replay but if his hands were still touching the ball when the shot clock expired then i would think it should have been waved off....
     
  3. DOMINATOR

    DOMINATOR Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,458
    Likes Received:
    256
    he's asking more when is a shot counted. when the ball breaks the plane of the rim? or does the entire ball have to pass through?

    i dont know, just trying to make the OP question more clear.
     
  4. The Joker

    The Joker Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    7
    well a few years ago, i believe it was Charlie Villanueva dunked a ball, but before the ball left the net entirely, it hit his head and bounced out.. The ruling was no basket.. How is that?
     
  5. T-2

    T-2 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    8
    If the ball was fully through the rim that wouldn't be enough to change your mind, right?
     
  6. Omer

    Omer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,933
    Likes Received:
    56
    Since the ball has to leave the player's hand before 24 seconds, it is a violation.
     
  7. BaMcMing

    BaMcMing Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    17
    My guess would be that the plane of the rim has nothing to do with it. The ball has to come off his hands and go all the way through the net before it can be counted.

    In golf, the ball can go in the hole and bounce back out. It doesn't count til it stays in the hole.

    Being at the Heat game though, that would have been a tough call to waive that off. It was a bang bang type of play and at live speed it looked like it counted without question
     
  8. Hayesfan

    Hayesfan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    10,910
    Likes Received:
    374
    Where is Ronnie Nunn when you need him?

    Or what's that new General's name? Patton?? oh wait wrong guy.
     
  9. eveluvsrox

    eveluvsrox Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,438
    Likes Received:
    79
    bad all but lebron did it too...oh well
     
  10. bullardfan

    bullardfan なんでやねん

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,597
    Likes Received:
    101
    this has nothing to do with shot clock but i believe othella harrington dunked a ball once and it went all the way through hit the ground so hard that it bounced straight up and back out of the rim. call was no basket.
     
  11. bushbush1988

    bushbush1988 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    0
    i was surprised that dunk wasn't ruled goal tending lol
     
  12. warmshizzle

    warmshizzle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    7
    Well, once the ball touched the rim from the dunk, the shot clock shouldve restarted anyway, so it wouldve counted.
     
  13. smoothie

    smoothie Jabari Jungle

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    Messages:
    20,716
    Likes Received:
    6,947
    if vince carter dunked a ball by putting his arm through the rim. it wouldn't count until he let go of the ball?

    i have no idea what the official rule is, but if the ball is through the rim then it no longer counts as in the players hand IMO.
     
  14. across110thstreet

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Messages:
    12,855
    Likes Received:
    1,611
    t-2, are you talking about the wafer airball? what is the specific play? did the rebound hit the rim?
     
  15. rockmanslim

    rockmanslim Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    14
    I voted for violation. I recall on a few occasions seeing a player dunk the ball, hang on the rim, ball gets halfway down, but the player lets go of the rim and the recoiling rim spits the ball back out before it gets all the way through the net--no basket, and the player looks like a dumbass for hanging on the rim. I guess the rule is the ball has to get all the way through the net before it is counted as a score? Who knows.
     
  16. T-2

    T-2 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yeah, that's the one. It was an airball - and imo Landry's dunk didn't hit rim either (and even if it did, let's stipulate that it did not - it makes the topic less interesting if it did).
     
    #16 T-2, Jan 18, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2009
  17. T-2

    T-2 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    8
    I hadn't even thought of the dunk hitting the rim as a cause for resetting the shotclock. :D

    Let's stipulate that the rebound dunk doesn't hit rim either.

    I still voted no basket (#1) because as a couple of you have mentioned, a dunk can come back out of the basket and it doesn't count - therefore going through the rim would seem to be irrelevant.

    Good call (no pun intended), HayesFan, that was one of NBA-TV's better shows. Doesn't seem like it's on anymore, I guess they got tired of their studio hosts made to look like utter buffoons, lol...
     
  18. JuanValdez

    JuanValdez Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    35,055
    Likes Received:
    15,229
    Unless gravity suddenly reverses, a ball that has crossed the plane of the rim will not pop out again without hitting the rim. If it pops out, the shotclock is going to be reset. So, I don't think you can put the resetting of the shotclock aside. It would be reset by the ball exiting the rim. The dunk should count.
     
  19. SamFisher

    SamFisher Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    61,826
    Likes Received:
    41,301
    ball hasn't left his hands by the buzzer = no shot, game over. I think that's the best answer.

    Unrelated, but with respect ot the "rebound dunk" - I thought when the ball passed all the way through the net it was a basket no matter what?

     
    #19 SamFisher, Jan 21, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2009
  20. Uprising

    Uprising Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    43,074
    Likes Received:
    6,599
    but what if the ball skims the rim when he's dunking?
     

Share This Page