1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

[Cool Story Bro] Chronicles of Unemployed Clutchfans

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by g1184, Mar 28, 2010.

1. g1184

g1184 Member

Anybody else here in the job market?

I bought into the education hype. There were two things people loved telling me while I as in high school: "Do all your education now because going back to school later will be hard," and "I never thought I'd be doing this when I graduated college, it has nothing to do with my major." So the message was to spend six to eight straight years in higher education and then, when you graduate, life's still a crap-shoot. Great.

I chose the broadest major that suited my skills (mech eng) because "engineers are ALWAYS in demand," and then went on to get two masters (management/eng) and never even looked at getting a full time job in between.

Now. My daily routine has become (1) breakfast, (2) Hulu, (3) Search/Apply till sundown and watch my friends' professional lives progress while I anxiously await Census training (send those in btw). Awesome.

There is no God, there is only Murphy's Law.

[/weeping]

What's your (cool) story?

2. rocks_fan

rocks_fan Rookie

Let's see...