1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Checking out the NBA Rulebook...

Discussion in 'Houston Rockets: Game Action & Roster Moves' started by bcdjad, Mar 17, 2002.

  1. bcdjad

    bcdjad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 1999
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wanted a clarification on whether or not a foul could have been called against the Rockets if Jalen Rose was fouled after the game buzzer sounded in the third OT.

    According to http://www.basketball.com/nba/rules/rule5.shtml, APPARENTLY NOT!

    ****************************************************

    Section III-End of Period

    a. Each period ends when time expires.

    EXCEPTIONS:

    (2) If a personal or technical foul occurs at :00.0, but prior to the horn sounding (my bold print), the period officially ends after the free throw(s) are attempted. The free throw(s) will be attempted immediately.

    ****************************************************

    So the question is, when did the "foul" occur -- before or at the buzzer. Since we all know Rose's shot came after the buzzer sounded, the "foul" (if there is one) may have occurred after the buzzer sounded as well. This would shoot down Chicago's legitimacy of tonight's win.

    I know, this won't change anything, but I find this to be very interesting, nonetheless.

    :confused:
     
  2. DaDakota

    DaDakota Balance wins
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 1999
    Messages:
    129,737
    Likes Received:
    40,311
    What foul? THere was NO foul called.

    The shot was after the buzzer, and no foul was called, it should not have counted.

    DD
     
  3. bcdjad

    bcdjad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 1999
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dakota, that's what Bull fans are saying -- that there was a foul on the Rockets before Rose's shot.

    After checking the replay, I saw 0.0 on the scoreboard after Walt Williams JUST BARELY touched Rose on the arm.
     
  4. DaDakota

    DaDakota Balance wins
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 1999
    Messages:
    129,737
    Likes Received:
    40,311
    You can call a foul on EVERY single play in the NBA....refs NEVER call fouls on late baskets.

    No foul...and the shot should not have counted.

    DD
     

Share This Page