1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Best Web Page Creation Software?

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by Rasselas, Mar 19, 2005.

1. Rasselas

Rasselas Contributing Member

I'm a newbie to the world of web page creation. Any suggestions on what software I should use?

*The site I'm building: I'm a freeance writer. Just looking to create a simple, professional-looking page that has my portfolio, resume, clips, movie reviews, celeb interviews, etc.

*My current experience with this kinda stuff: nil.

*What I'm willing to spend: $200 or so, if need be.

I downloaded the free Yahoo Sitebuilder, but that seems a little clunky, and, well, Yahoo-ish. I don't need too much horsepower, I suppose, since my needs are faily simple, but I do want a site that doesn't look junky. And I'm willing to invest the time to learn how to do it right.

Any thoughts would be great! Thanks in advance.

2. The Real Shady

The Real Shady Contributing Member

I think Dreamweaver is the best. It's kind of expensive but I went to a file sharing site and downloaded it for free.

3. LegendZ3

LegendZ3 Contributing Member

Well, frontpage is pretty much the easiest professional web building software out there. It creates a lots of junk codes, but it works well for entry level website builders such as yourself.

4. codell

codell Contributing Member

I knew nothing about web page design and ended up using http://www.coffeecup.com/

Very nice user interface and you get a free 30 day trial.

5. Stack24

Stack24 Contributing Member

I started out learning web design using Front page...it will honestly do everything you need it to do if you are just starting cuas eit makes everything easy...

After i got better at HTML and different designs i moved up to Dreamweaver and i have been using that every since