You only have to watch the first minute or so to get the point. The rest the manager of the team in the field arguing about what the umpire called. <object width="425" height="350"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/SiS2-t5s4ig"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/SiS2-t5s4ig" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed></object>
The confusion comes because the batter is called out on appeal to the first base umpire. once the home plate ump points down and gets the call from him he signals an out, but the ball did bounce so the runner can advance. The defensive team was trying to argue that since the home plate ump signaled an out then it should have been dead, but even in the MLB when a 3rd strike is dropped the ump makes a call but the batter still has the right to try and advance to first. I don;t think I have ever seen an instance when a batter has scored but i have seen several times the catcher toss the ball back towards the mound and the batter easily make 1st or even 2nd.
.. and... I thought that rule only applied if the catcher drops it - not to a pitch that's in the dirt and caught by the catcher. No?
Aha! I just looked it up: http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/official_info/official_rules/runner_7.jsp Here's the rule: From the rules, it sounds like the umpires got the ruling correct that the batter could advance if the ball hit the dirt (as it did); however, the umpires screwed up by letting him advance more than one base (assuming they're playing by MLB rules, which may not be a safe assumption for a Japanese game). I'm not gonna look up the Japanese rules.
If it is a Japanese baseball game, then that makes plenty of sense. The Japanese love their baseball.
Ummm...I haven't watched the video, but that isn't the dropped third strike rule. That's the rule for the ball going out of the area of play... Here's the rule you're looking for. http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/official_info/official_rules/batter_6.jsp 6.09 The batter becomes a runner when -- (a) He hits a fair ball; (b) The third strike called by the umpire is not caught, providing (1) first base is unoccupied, or (2) first base is occupied with two out; Rule 6.09(b) Comment: A batter who does not realize his situation on a third strike not caught, and who is not in the process of running to first base, shall be declared out once he leaves the dirt circle surrounding home plate.
I thought it was only a dropped ball if the catcher dropped it after having it make contact with his glove, not bouncing off the dirt and into his glove?