1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Anyone know the answer to this?

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by moomoo, Apr 18, 2003.

  1. moomoo

    moomoo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,545
    Likes Received:
    1
    Let's make this thread short and to the point.

    Playing basketball. Loose ball. You run to grab the loose ball. You save it by dropping it off inbounds, while your momentum takes you out of bounds. Nobody else gets to (touches) the ball. You re-establish both feet inbounds, then grab the ball.

    Legal or illegal?
     
  2. Behad

    Behad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    12,358
    Likes Received:
    193
    No, because you passed it to yourself. Illegal
     
  3. Manny Ramirez

    Manny Ramirez The Music Man

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    28,810
    Likes Received:
    5,747
    I would guess that is illegal because it seems like you had passed the ball to yourself since it never touch any other player.

    But I am not 100% sure.
     
  4. moomoo

    moomoo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,545
    Likes Received:
    1
    What if the ball wasn't passed, but sort of batted, or dribbled instead?

    How is this any different than dribbling the ball upcourt, letting it bounce on its own a few times, then resuming the dribble (without picking it up with both hands)? I see this all the time.
     
  5. Behad

    Behad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    12,358
    Likes Received:
    193
    The difference that you went out of bounds, meaning you no longer had control of the ball. Someone else must touch it first before you can regain control, much like a pass.
     
  6. No Worries

    No Worries Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    32,879
    Likes Received:
    20,661
    If you don't have control of the ball before going out of bounds, I do not think that it would be a pass to yourself.
     
  7. DaDakota

    DaDakota Balance wins
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 1999
    Messages:
    129,202
    Likes Received:
    39,694
    Yep,

    No worries is right....Posey did this the other night.

    Knocked the ball free....towards in bounds...ran out of bounds...came back in.....established position picked it up and dribbled on his merry way.

    No traveling....

    DD
     
  8. Behad

    Behad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    12,358
    Likes Received:
    193

    But, the original post said "You run to grab the loose ball. " If you grab the ball, drop it inbounds, then re-establish position and re-grab it, that's passing to yourself.

    DaDa, no worries' (and Posey's) situation was different than the original question.
     
  9. DaDakota

    DaDakota Balance wins
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 1999
    Messages:
    129,202
    Likes Received:
    39,694
    Behad,

    Think of it this way, you have not used your dribble so the drop could be considered a dribble.

    Still...no traveling.

    DD
     
  10. Behad

    Behad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    12,358
    Likes Received:
    193
    I don't think so. To intentionally drop the ball while going out of bounds is considered a pass. You knew you were going out of bounds, so you passed it.
     
  11. DaDakota

    DaDakota Balance wins
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 1999
    Messages:
    129,202
    Likes Received:
    39,694
    Nope....not a pass at all....just a dribble.....you come back in dribble the ball or pick it up, either one is fine......no traveling.

    DD
     
  12. pippendagimp

    pippendagimp Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2000
    Messages:
    27,790
    Likes Received:
    22,790
    I agree that it's legal - and Posey did do exactly this a couple games ago.
     
  13. Behad

    Behad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    12,358
    Likes Received:
    193
    I haven't found an exact interpretation (yet), but read this from the rule book, noting the bolded part:

    1. A1 blocks a pass near the end line. The ball falls to the floor in bounds but A1,
    who is off balance, falls outside the end line. A1 returns, secures control of the ball, and
    dribbles. RULING: Legal. A1 has not left the playing court voluntarily and was not in
    control of the ball when leaving the playing court.



    This passage can be assumed to mean "out-of-bounds" if the player did have control.
     
    #13 Behad, Apr 18, 2003
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2003
  14. Behad

    Behad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    12,358
    Likes Received:
    193
    Found it: http://www.nba.com/analysis/rules_10.html?nav=ArticleList (Section III) :

    a. A player shall not run with the ball without dribbling it.
    b. A player in control of a dribble who steps on or outside a boundary line, even though not touching the ball while on or outside that boundary line, shall not be allowed to return inbounds and continue his dribble. He may not even be the first player to touch the ball after he has re-established a position inbounds.
     
  15. moomoo

    moomoo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,545
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the responses.

    I guess I wasn't so clear in the original post, so let me clarify. The loose ball was not really "grabbed" and thrown back inbounds, it was closer to being "batted" in with both hands, but it may have been somewhere in the gray area in between "grabbing" (implying more control) and "batting," (implying less control) like the gray area between a legal dribble and illegal palming, I guess.

    Does this matter? Was it illegal regardless?

    I didn't see the Posey play. Which game was that in? I've got it taped unless it was in the last Seattle game.
     
  16. Behad

    Behad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    12,358
    Likes Received:
    193
    Then it's a judgement call. Control implies holding, passing, or dribbling the ball, which would have been illegal. Hitting or batting the ball is not considered control, thus it's legal.

    I'm a coach, it's my job to know the rules.
     
  17. jello77

    jello77 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,178
    Likes Received:
    4
    i know that it's illegal, because during a game in the league i played in a few years ago, i was called for that. i dove out and saved the ball. no one picked it up, so i trotted back on court and picked it up. i got the call against me.
     
  18. moomoo

    moomoo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,545
    Likes Received:
    1
    So it depends on whether or not the player had control of the ball on the initial touch. Got it.

    Thanks for the help, Behad, and everyone else.
     

Share This Page

  • About ClutchFans

    Since 1996, ClutchFans has been loud and proud covering the Houston Rockets, helping set an industry standard for team fan sites. The forums have been a home for Houston sports fans as well as basketball fanatics around the globe.

  • Support ClutchFans!

    If you find that ClutchFans is a valuable resource for you, please consider becoming a Supporting Member. Supporting Members can upload photos and attachments directly to their posts, customize their user title and more. Gold Supporters see zero ads!


    Upgrade Now