Just admit the rockets Lost because they can't hit free throws or take care of the ball. These two reasons are the reasons why they are candidates for first round exit regardless of the opponent
Ok. My question is just generally about rules. So he blocked the ball. There's still time left. The blocks causes the missed shot. Shouldn't James be allowed to try and get the rebound without getting fouled?? Point is we have no idea what could have happened next because one player impeded the other with physical contact. My point is I can't understand this rule at all. It implies as someone else noted that if you just run at a three point shooter and block the ball the following contact should be a no call... Which never happens. That foul is always called. This isn't a question as to why the rockets lost the game. It's just about the rules generally?
The rules state you can't foul through the follow through which is why I thought it wasn't just a block. His fingertips hit the ball but never actually knock the ball loose. How they called it basically suggests that if you hit the ball then any incidental contact afterwards is just that. We know that's not true though, as if you say block a 3 point shot and your hand then hits the shooters forearm it's called every single time, even if the balls been released it's still a foul through the follow through.
The funny thing about that play was that Ginobili wouldn't have turned the ball over if he didn't flop like a bish to try to get the call. Either way, we have little reason to complain. The refs were pretty fair to us.
the thing is they call that a foul all the time on shot attemtps. i assumed it was always a fould because they always call it...
See my earlier post. I think they treat a driving layup and a jump shot differently. In a drive the shooter is moving toward the basket while the defender is jumping straight up. In a jump shot, the shooter is jumping straight up and the defender has to move toward the shooter to make contact.
I'm just mad they didn't call a foul on Brewer after the shot. Brewer got to Duncan in time with 2.3 secs left so Timmy should have been at the line for FTs. We had timeouts left so we could have advanced the ball afterwards. Disappointing the ref report didn't mention anything about that.