I think it was a travel. The foul, if it's a foul, happened before the travel. Allen's arm was on Ginobili's body after the first step. So it should be called either a travel (if the contact was judged not serious) or a foul. As VanityHalfBlack pointed out, it could also be a jump ball because Allen's hand was on the ball too.
Meh, I think the travel is a 50/50 depending on where you count the gather step. It was definitely a foul on Manu and on Green, but they often don't call those at the end of games. Personally I think they should have called at least one of them... not calling both of them leaves a kind of off impression. As for Lebron and Green's play, I thought that was clearly not a foul on Green. Doesn't matter though.. we're now in game 7 and I expect an all out war. I had the Spurs in 7 in a close series, and still believe that's what we'll get. Given how tough both these teams are, I wouldn't be surprised if Miami pulls out a win either. Would anyone really be surprised at either outcome? I sure wouldn't.
It wasn't a travel and was an obvious foul on the arm. He would've been able to get up a shot if he wasn't fouled. The refs didn't want to give the Spurs the chip on free throws, though. Understandable.
Steve Javie was ESPN Radio. Think he said something along the lines that when the ball was initially knocked loose, the contact was not illegal
Doesn't matter. Manu shouldn't have missed the ft or they would have a championship. Refs don't make these calls at the end of games.
It's funny how so many people are pointing fingers at the bad officiating after the Spurs started losing.
can anyone make this a gif? Its a perfect example of the gathering provision that allows a player two actually take 3 steps on a drive either from a pass or from a dribble. They can take a step or hop to gain control of the ball then still take two additional steps. Rule 9, Section XIII, Item (b): A player who receives the ball while he is progressing or upon completion of a dribble, may take two steps in coming to a stop, passing or shooting the ball. A player who receives the ball while he is progressing must release the ball to start his dribble before his second step. The first step occurs when a foot, or both feet, touch the floor after gaining control of the ball.
Huh? You have the wrong thread brother. Might want to go to the actual thread for the series. The majority of people in this thread agree with the no-call by the ref and actually seem to believe the officiating was pretty good.
yah this whole series has been shockingly well done. It sucks because in the first 40 minutes of the game that call would have probably been a foul for ginobli...and the shot block by bosh would have DEFINITELY been a foul...because it was lol. But no ref is going to end a finals game much less a series on a last minute foul call on a catch and shoot. Just wont happen.