Tough call there, it is close to a travel, depends upon whether the jump stop was the first step or the 2nd. DD
I don't think it was a travel at all, but even if it was.. It's one of those we call it when we want to travels.
Doesn't look like a travel to me upon replaying it on real time and even in slow motion, until they had the explanation.
You can't pivot after a jump stop. It's definitely a travel. However, Wade and Lebron have been doing this their entire careers.
He traveled but like others said Lebron got screwed out of his points on that dunk as well. But wade traveled, the video clearly shows he did
See my explanation in the previous page about how these Video guys continue to cite the wrong part of the rule. It is not a travel, because it was not a "Jump Stop." It is just a First Step. The video explanation is wrong. You will see them do this another dozen times...and they will continue to be wrong. The Refs are correct in this video, and the dudes are confusing a Jump Stop with a First Step. See previous page where I cite the correct part of the rule book.
Definitely NOT a travel. If you complete a legal jump stop and land on BOTH feet at the same time, you are free to pivot on whichever foot you choose. But hey... don't let the rules get in the way of your hatred of the Heat.
I dont think your quoting the right rule. We are talking about the hop step here not the normal two step continuation. http://www.nba.com/nba101/misunderstood_0708.html
he clearly had both feet in the air for the jump stop. The rule states that is considered step one. When you land with both feet that is considered the second step.
...rules state jumping off the one leg is one step, which Wade clearly does...then he lands with both fee (jump stop), which is step two. Can't pivot according to rule.
Even if that was a travel, he only moved his feet because the defender fell on him and fouled him. That last movement would have otherwise been unnecessary for him to score.
Didn't watch the video, but I watched the end of the game and if I remember correctly he left his right pivot foot down. The announcers replayed it and said the same thing.
the problem is the rule states he can't pivot, at all. The question isn't whether he had the correct foot down, but that he couldn't lift either after the jump stop.
dudes....the primary rule is when you stop your dribble. Wade clearly had not stopped his dribblle when the video said he did. He could have dribbled again. That's because he hadn't stopped his dribble at the point the video said he did. The video is wrong. bottomline....the video website is making money off of making you believe that is a travel. They will do this throughout the year just like they did last year. They are wrong and making money off of it.