1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

One foot fadeaway - is it a travel?

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by DarkHorse, Jun 9, 2010.

?

Simple question: yes or no?

  1. Yes: it's legal

    43 vote(s)
    69.4%
  2. No: it's travelling

    19 vote(s)
    30.6%
  1. kaleidosky

    kaleidosky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    15,086
    Likes Received:
    1,352
    Interesting. "all in a continuous motion of a jump" is probably the differentiator here. Maybe in my thought, it would LOOK more like a "big step towards the basket" than a jump, and therefore would be traveling in that scenario
     
  2. DarkHorse

    DarkHorse Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    6,756
    Likes Received:
    1,303
    The difference in this situation is that you haven't started your dribble, yet.
     
  3. Franchise3

    Franchise3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Messages:
    3,138
    Likes Received:
    30
    I can't really tell what you are talking about, but I think we are envisioning two different things. I am talking about back to the basket, dibble picked up, and pivot foot already established. You can begin your jump with either foot in that case.

    You seem adamant that you are correct that it is illegal. Can you provide the relevant section of the rulebook that supports your assertion?
     
  4. LongTimeFan

    LongTimeFan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2001
    Messages:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    963
    So If I'm on the block, you pass me the ball, and I go to a fade away without dribbling is it a travel? :confused:

    Or say I dribble and come to a jump stop on one pivot, and then same situation, I take a step with my non-pivot foot out of the triple threat and shoot on one leg. In that scenario, I no longer have my dribble, so is it not traveling then?

    It sounds like you're saying it's only travelling if you are able to dribble the ball.
     
  5. Franchise3

    Franchise3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Messages:
    3,138
    Likes Received:
    30
    You can lift your pivot foot if you are taking a shot or making a pass (whether you can dribble or not is irrelevant). I don't know what is so confusing about it. Maybe some people in this thread have the misconception that lifting your pivot foot is a travel in all situations?
     
  6. DOMINATOR

    DOMINATOR Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,458
    Likes Received:
    256
    yeah i dont see whats so confusing. its not a travel. you can take a step and hold your pivot foot in the air, as long as you dont put it back on the ground its not a travel.
    even that kobe clip he didnt travel. his left foot was in the air when he picked up the ball. then his left foot was the pivot all the way through the ball fake spin.
     
  7. DarkHorse

    DarkHorse Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    6,756
    Likes Received:
    1,303
    I guess what I was thinking is that dribbling would be out of the question in this situation, and the fact that he mentioned the triple threat position implied to me that dribbling was an option.

    I see guys getting called for this all the time. (lifting their pivot foot slightly from the triple threat position and then attempting to dribble around their defender)
     
  8. pmac

    pmac Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,416
    Likes Received:
    3,302
    Right. The traveling violation occurs when a player attempts to dribble after lifting their pivot foot. Once the pivot foot is lifted, as in most case when two steps are taken, you must release the ball.
     
  9. Franchise3

    Franchise3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Messages:
    3,138
    Likes Received:
    30
    Yeah, I see what you are saying. I believe that is a separate section of the traveling rules and it states the ball must leave your hands for the dribble before you lift you pivot foot or else it is a travel.
     
  10. Jontro

    Jontro Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    36,448
    Likes Received:
    25,676
    It's not a travel if it's a crab fadeaway
     
  11. LongTimeFan

    LongTimeFan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2001
    Messages:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    963
    Then on theory-- out of the triple threat, with my left foot as my pivot, I can take a step with my right, without dribbling, and stand there on my right leg as long as I shoot or pass?

    I guess the easiest explanation would be to say that you're only allowed to lift your pivot foot if it's in a shooting/passing motion. Dream would lift his pivot foot all the time.

    But then even that isn't true.. if you're in the post, with your right foot as the pivot, and you do a fadeaway lifting your right foot and standing on your left, you can hold that position (as in not shooting the fadeaway; maybe you realized it'd be blocked and didn't jump off your left foot but instead keep it on the ground) -- it isn't traveling unless your right foot comes back down.
     
    #51 LongTimeFan, Jun 9, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2010
  12. luisantonio1014

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    11
    I'm pretty sure it's a travel if you try to take your 2 steps after pivoting. Dirk does it all the time! he pivots, then on the fadeaway, he lifts his pivot foot first then the other. I always thought that would be a travel. That's what I was taught.

    I also hate when little teen kobe-wannabes at the gym or at the courts take a huge jumpstep and then pivot instead of going up for the shot. that's obviously a travel!
     
  13. Franchise3

    Franchise3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Messages:
    3,138
    Likes Received:
    30
    No it's not. Huge jumpstop or small jumpstop, they are the same. The height of your jumpstop is irrelevant. One may look more like a travel because it is relatively unorthodox, but it's not.

    If you land on both both feet simultaneously after a jumpstop, you CAN establish a pivot foot.
     
  14. kaleidosky

    kaleidosky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    15,086
    Likes Received:
    1,352
    did you see paul pierce's travel just now? EXACTLY what i'm talking about. The same thing as the one foot fadeaway, except going towards the basket... and it was called a travel (and the commentators called it as such too)
     
  15. rage

    rage Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    41
    They call it NBA 101, it's the 1st thing you should pick up ...
    http://www.nba.com/nba101/misunderstood_0708.html
     

Share This Page