Last night, Landry dunked a rebound in with absolutely no time left in the shot clock. From what I saw, in the video frame in which the shot clock turned zero, Landry's hands were still firmly planted on the ball, thus Miami's coaching staff waved frantically on the sidelines for a shot clock violation. The referees let the play stand though, two points. Bad no call, right? Here's the catch. The dunked ball was now precisely halfway down the rim - it had crossed the plane of the rim halfway. You make the call!
didn't see replay but if his hands were still touching the ball when the shot clock expired then i would think it should have been waved off....
he's asking more when is a shot counted. when the ball breaks the plane of the rim? or does the entire ball have to pass through? i dont know, just trying to make the OP question more clear.
well a few years ago, i believe it was Charlie Villanueva dunked a ball, but before the ball left the net entirely, it hit his head and bounced out.. The ruling was no basket.. How is that?
My guess would be that the plane of the rim has nothing to do with it. The ball has to come off his hands and go all the way through the net before it can be counted. In golf, the ball can go in the hole and bounce back out. It doesn't count til it stays in the hole. Being at the Heat game though, that would have been a tough call to waive that off. It was a bang bang type of play and at live speed it looked like it counted without question
Where is Ronnie Nunn when you need him? Or what's that new General's name? Patton?? oh wait wrong guy.
this has nothing to do with shot clock but i believe othella harrington dunked a ball once and it went all the way through hit the ground so hard that it bounced straight up and back out of the rim. call was no basket.
Well, once the ball touched the rim from the dunk, the shot clock shouldve restarted anyway, so it wouldve counted.
if vince carter dunked a ball by putting his arm through the rim. it wouldn't count until he let go of the ball? i have no idea what the official rule is, but if the ball is through the rim then it no longer counts as in the players hand IMO.
t-2, are you talking about the wafer airball? what is the specific play? did the rebound hit the rim?
I voted for violation. I recall on a few occasions seeing a player dunk the ball, hang on the rim, ball gets halfway down, but the player lets go of the rim and the recoiling rim spits the ball back out before it gets all the way through the net--no basket, and the player looks like a dumbass for hanging on the rim. I guess the rule is the ball has to get all the way through the net before it is counted as a score? Who knows.
Yeah, that's the one. It was an airball - and imo Landry's dunk didn't hit rim either (and even if it did, let's stipulate that it did not - it makes the topic less interesting if it did).
I hadn't even thought of the dunk hitting the rim as a cause for resetting the shotclock. Let's stipulate that the rebound dunk doesn't hit rim either. I still voted no basket (#1) because as a couple of you have mentioned, a dunk can come back out of the basket and it doesn't count - therefore going through the rim would seem to be irrelevant. Good call (no pun intended), HayesFan, that was one of NBA-TV's better shows. Doesn't seem like it's on anymore, I guess they got tired of their studio hosts made to look like utter buffoons, lol...
Unless gravity suddenly reverses, a ball that has crossed the plane of the rim will not pop out again without hitting the rim. If it pops out, the shotclock is going to be reset. So, I don't think you can put the resetting of the shotclock aside. It would be reset by the ball exiting the rim. The dunk should count.
ball hasn't left his hands by the buzzer = no shot, game over. I think that's the best answer. Unrelated, but with respect ot the "rebound dunk" - I thought when the ball passed all the way through the net it was a basket no matter what?