1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Basketball Rules Question

Discussion in 'NBA Dish' started by Thinhallen, Aug 14, 2006.

  1. Thinhallen

    Thinhallen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    5
    I was playing ball the other day and I'm not really a stickler on rules, but I wanted to know if anyone knew the official NBA status on the following situations.

    1. A shot is blocked, does the ball have to touch the floor before the offensive player who shot the ball can recover it? Is it different if it's a jump shot vs a set shot?

    2. An offensive player uses their elbow as leverage to get around someone, is this considered hooking or do you need to actually do something more ie use your hand?

    3. A ball is being dribbled in one direction, but then in mid-air is shifted to another angle without palming. As long as the player's hand hasn't drifted below the "equator" of the ball is it a carry?

    Thanks to all who answer and if you have links to any Rules site, it would definitely settle some debates. =)
     
  2. rocketsinsider

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    1.from what i have experienced, no, the ball doesnt have to touch the ground if its blocked for the offensive player to recover it.

    2. This really depends, if the person defending you is in your space then you can use your elbow to manuver, but if your using it to get past someone, such as pushing them out of the way then yes that would be a offensive foul (I think).

    3.I have no idea what your talking about, sorry :( .
     
  3. macalu

    macalu Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Messages:
    16,942
    Likes Received:
    836
    1. the only instance where the ball has to hit the floor before the offensive player can touch is when it's blocked before it leaves his hand on a shot. instead of calling "jump ball" like they do in organized bball, you just have to drop the ball in this case since there is no jump ball in street.

    2. see rocketsinsider's post.

    3. see post #2.
     
  4. MR. MEOWGI

    MR. MEOWGI Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    14,382
    Likes Received:
    13
    I got one too. (sorry mac)

    If someone passes you the ball when you are standing still, how high can you hold the ball when you start your dribble?

    While I was playing (many years ago) I caught the ball, then started my dribble by flipping it behind my neck, then took off in that direction. My defender freaked out and b****ed a little. :D
     
  5. rage

    rage Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    41
    If the guy who shoots the ball let go of the ball when it it blocked, he can grab the ball again right away. If the ball is blocked and stays in the offensive player hands, they'll call a jump ball. There might be a slight difference in the ref's interpretation between the jump shot and set shot. When you take a set shot, your pivot foot is still on the floor, if the defender gets his hand on your ball and you pull it back quick enough, you can still do other things with it. When you take a jump shot, you leave the floor, if the defender gets his hand on your ball, subsequent actions by you has to be called a travel unless a jump ball is called.
    Ref's judgement.
    This is palming, there is no way you can push the ball in one direction in the air and in the same motion move the ball in the different direction without palming or grabbing the ball with your fingers. A legal dribble is defined as push or tap on the ball. If the ball stays in your hand too long, it is palming. Of course they let Magic Johnson get away with it 95% of the time when they call the same on rookies.
     
  6. giddyup

    giddyup Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    20,466
    Likes Received:
    488
    Here's mine: if a free-throw shooter loses posession of the ball (say dribbles it off his foot in a pre-shot routine) does s/he forfeit the attempt?
     
  7. rage

    rage Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    41
    You can start the dribble by throwing the ball up in the air. If your next action is a dribble (a push on the ball to the floor) then you can continue your dribble. If you catch the ball, you will have shoot or pass.
     
  8. macalu

    macalu Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Messages:
    16,942
    Likes Received:
    836
    once you catch the ball, your initial dribble can start anywhere.
     
  9. Jimes

    Jimes Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    27
    Questions: Is the ball considered out-of-bounds if it goes over the backboard from either direction without touching any part of the goal?
    (Didn't Larry Bird make that highlight reel shot from the endline that went over part of the backboard?)

    If you hit the front of the top of the backboard and it comes back into play, this is not out-of-bounds right?
     
  10. JuanValdez

    JuanValdez Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    35,096
    Likes Received:
    15,292
    I doubt there's a rule on this; I don't think they ever thought someone that inept would be playing the game, much less actually reach the free throw line. :p
     
  11. macalu

    macalu Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Messages:
    16,942
    Likes Received:
    836
    that should NOT be out of bounds......but, like most rules, it depends where you play.
     
  12. DallasThomas

    DallasThomas Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,363
    Likes Received:
    216
    Up until a few years ago, if the ball went over the top of the goal (from the front, at least), it was always an out of bounds violation. But now, as long as it doesn't hit anything on the backside of the backboard it can go over.

    But I'm not sure about that Bird shot...I'm not sure if it even counted with the rules at the time.
     
  13. tierre_brown

    tierre_brown Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Likes Received:
    82
    I was wondering something in addition to this: I know the offensive player who shot can recover the ball if it gets blocked. However, does it have to hit the ground once before he can dribble again, or can he just resume his dribble immediately after the block/recover?

    This shouldn't be a ref's judgment: since you said uses his elbow as leverage to get around someone, it should be a hooking and an offensive foul. Unfortunately, the league doesn't call this nearly enough, and if you call it on the playground...you're a p**sy.

    If you mean like an AI crossover simply with the hands, I don't see how it would be palming...
     
  14. Ognilecaf

    Ognilecaf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is not palming(but can be)and is legal as long as your hand doesnt go under the "equator" of the ball. You can guide the ball in a different direction as long as you are not palming it, which is very possible.(However, some people will b**** over it)

    Larry Bird did make the shot over the backboard but the rules at the time disallowed the shot.(In todays game it would count)


    If your shot is blocked you can grab it at any time.




    Here's a question no one has been able to answer for me.. Not even a couple of referees. If i receive the ball and havent started my dribble yet, can I jump as if im taking a shot and the dribble instead of shoot?I know most people would call this travel BUT is it really?
     
  15. macalu

    macalu Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Messages:
    16,942
    Likes Received:
    836
    that should be a legal move. i've actually seen it a couple of times in an NBA game where the guy thought he was gonna get blocked and just threw the ball down to dribble, no call.
     
  16. Ognilecaf

    Ognilecaf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seems like more people would do it if it were legal though.
    Like right under the basket, Jump as if to fake lay it up, then dribble to the other side. I know i have been called for it in various leagues but those guys usually dont know the official rules.
     
  17. white lightning

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,570
    Likes Received:
    744
    Here's mine:

    This rule seems clear, but it usually comes up in any pickup game I'm involved in. Does the ball have to hit the rim for the shooter to get his own rebound? Can it just hit the backboard?
     
  18. francis 4 prez

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    22,025
    Likes Received:
    4,552
    every single time i've seen it in an nba (or college) game it has been called traveling or maybe some version of double dribbling (either way, something is called). perhaps you saw the exception macalu (or a bad ref), but i've never not seen someone called for traveling/dd when they catch it, jump, think they'll get blocked, and dribble while in mid-air. of course, if you dribble but never touch it again, it's legal and you have to hope a teammate comes over and grabs it, but as soon as you touch it after your mid-air dribble, it's called.
     
  19. Ognilecaf

    Ognilecaf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0

    I've never had this problem....Where ever I play you can always get your own rebound unless its an airball. Now as far as taking it back(clearing the ball) I do have this argument a lot but that depends on where you play and if they go by rim or backboard for take backs(Half court only of course)
     
  20. pchan

    pchan Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think when you start dribbling, the ball has to touch the ground first before you leave your pivot foot. So, if you jump before you dribble, it is a travel.
     

Share This Page