1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

[Western Conference Semifinals] (2)San Antonio vs. (3)Oklahoma City

Discussion in 'NBA Dish' started by J.R., Apr 25, 2016.

?

(2)San Antonio vs. (3)Oklahoma City

Poll closed Apr 30, 2016.
  1. Spurs in 4

    5.6%
  2. Spurs in 5

    23.3%
  3. Spurs in 6

    53.3%
  4. Spurs in 7

    13.3%
  5. Thunder in 7

    1.1%
  6. Thunder in 6

    3.3%
  7. Thunder in 5

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  8. Thunder in 4

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. OTMax

    OTMax Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    8,352
    Likes Received:
    3,670
    Manu gave him enough space, the small part of his foot over the line is therefore a non-issue. Guys pushing away part of the arm before inbounding happens a lot and with Manu's flop movement, I'm glad they did not call that. Then the jump happened. Guys grab people all the time in these situations, but by the time they fouled Durant, something should've been called. The problem by that point is what do you call? Fouls went both ways, though it seems the Spurs got more shafted than the Thunder. It's ironic referees can really kill a game by their constant whistles yet with all these fouls they just let it all go..
     
  2. mingthething

    mingthething Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    30
    Panama papers size report
     
  3. YOLO

    YOLO Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    46,688
    Likes Received:
    44,892
    no this does not happen a lot. an in bounding player does not extend contact to create space in anyway.
     
  4. OTMax

    OTMax Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    8,352
    Likes Received:
    3,670
    Pushing away / slapping away part of an arm / hands does happen, elbow is something else but the flopping makes it worse than it is.
     
  5. YOLO

    YOLO Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    46,688
    Likes Received:
    44,892
    nope. i don't know what you've been watching but an in bounder does not make contact with the defense. good luck finding examples that make this so common to you. when you have the whole basketball world in awe at something that does not happen that should tell you enough. Your belief that this happens a lot if just false when it comes to an inbounder. All of that stuff happens outside of that person to players trying to get the ball and defending them.
     
  6. OTMax

    OTMax Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    8,352
    Likes Received:
    3,670
    Guess that's just amateur ball then ;) I thought it was really quite common. Webber's reaction to it is priceless regardless :grin:
     
  7. heypartner

    heypartner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1999
    Messages:
    63,510
    Likes Received:
    59,001
    It's often wise to withhold taking a position on these plays until you consult the rules. Ronnie Nunn on twitter actually had to pull out his rule book and tweek his position due to others helping cite rules. But the rules are clear, and it is OK for guys like YOLO to readjust their opinions now:

    Rules:
    Crossing the plane of the inbounds line is a technical (in last two minutes), by both offense and defense. Ginobody's foot on the line is not actually necessary, but provides concrete proof. He was clearly face-guarding Waiters at the start of the play, and in the photo where his foot on the line as well. You are not allowed to reach over the plane to gets your hands in like that. I do recall seeing a mere crossing the plane with arms called before, just not in last 2 minutes where it's a tech. We just don't take note of it, because it's usually just a delay of game warning.​

    So,
    1. Ginobody technical for crossing plane of inbounds line (either foot or arms can cause this technical)
    2. Waiters later technical for crossing the plane as well -- and/or a foul. Not sure which would take precedence or both apply? Technically, the technical happens first, but nothing in rules to clarify.
    3. Waiters violation for jumping on inbounds pass.

    All no-calls and Spurs still got the steal and screwed up the play.

    [​IMG]
     
    #347 heypartner, May 3, 2016
    Last edited: May 3, 2016
  8. J.R.

    J.R. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    113,897
    Likes Received:
    175,205
    <blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The end of game inbound foul in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/OKCvsSAS?src=hash">#OKCvsSAS</a> was one we've never seen before &amp; we missed it. We'll incorporate this in training moving forward.</p>&mdash; NBA Referees (@OfficialNBARefs) <a href="https://twitter.com/OfficialNBARefs/status/727555121148735488">May 3, 2016</a></blockquote>
    <script async src="//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
     
  9. YOLO

    YOLO Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    46,688
    Likes Received:
    44,892
    don't see where any readjustments really need to be made as far as my comments specifically geared toward the in bounder.
     
  10. OTMax

    OTMax Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    8,352
    Likes Received:
    3,670
    Hahaha training..how about training to call the obvious. It's not like they didn't see it.
     
  11. heypartner

    heypartner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1999
    Messages:
    63,510
    Likes Received:
    59,001
    Ronnie Nunn also mentioned last night that an inbounder fouling a defender was never in the rules. But he does say the rules can be applied as a technical for Waiters crossing the boundary, regardless if he touches Ginobody or not.
     
  12. CCity Zero

    CCity Zero Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7,334
    Likes Received:
    3,631
    Where's the part of the post that says they were told to make sure OKC can extend the series? Lolol (I'm not serious, but..... ever since Tim still have to question it :) ), such a cluster F with the refs... Lol, anyway great share as usual JR!
     
  13. YOLO

    YOLO Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    46,688
    Likes Received:
    44,892
    After the game, lead referee Ken Mauer explained what officials thought happened and what they believe should have been called after reviewing the final seconds. This was the explanation of what should have been called on the final play:

    Question: Can you explain what you saw on the inbounds play with 13.5 seconds remaining when Dion Waiters appeared to make contact with Manu Ginobili?

    Mauer: On the floor, we did not see a foul on the play. However, upon review we realize and we agree that we should have had an offensive foul on the play. It's a play that we have never seen before, ever, but we feel we should have had an offensive foul on Waiters.

    Question: Had an offensive call been made on Waiters, what rule would have applied to a foul committed before throw-in?

    Mauer: An offensive foul. Possession Spurs.
     
  14. heypartner

    heypartner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1999
    Messages:
    63,510
    Likes Received:
    59,001
    If you are posting that to explain that it never happens, you don't need to prove that to me. I agree that fouls by the inbounders never happen. Hence, why it isn't even addressed in the rules. If you are posting that to say the Spurs got screwed, well, that's different, and why I said people should consider readjusting their position on Spurs getting screwed until after consulting all the rules.

    Nunn said applying the rules means first addressing Gino's actions, which result in a technical and nothing else matters after that.

    Mauer's comments above were in answer to questions about Waiters fouling Gino. Had the question been, did Gino commit a technical by crossing the plane...maybe we get that part of the correct answer, too.
     
  15. YOLO

    YOLO Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    46,688
    Likes Received:
    44,892

    it was more of a general post. but the spurs get screwed in the sense that this was definitely a missed call but it wasn't the reason they lost. Ginobli's comments after the game were pretty much spot on. With that said it just sucks so much controversy came from this after a well played game by both teams.
     
  16. heypartner

    heypartner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1999
    Messages:
    63,510
    Likes Received:
    59,001
    The technical by Ginobody takes precedence on the play. Nothing Waiters does after that counts.

    But it won't surprise me if the NBA L2R ignore Gino crossing the plane so all they have to do is repeat the company line that "We've never seen that (Waiters' foul) before. We'll incorporate that into training now on."
     
  17. YOLO

    YOLO Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    46,688
    Likes Received:
    44,892
    true and also the clock started even before anyone touched the ball which would of resulted in a do over for waiters if called. just a crazy play.
     
  18. rocketsmetalspd

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    9,286
    Likes Received:
    751
    True. Amazing how everyone on TNT is harping on the elbow by Waiters when Ginobili steps on the line before that. Don't understand how with all their staff that no one brought that out, especially Webber he went adamant that it was offensive foul by waiters.
     
  19. Rocket River

    Rocket River Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 1999
    Messages:
    64,999
    Likes Received:
    32,704
    this is the point . . . .where someone has to say . . . . BUT IT SHOULD NOT HAVE COME DOWN TO THE REFS

    Rocket River
    #Sarcasm
     
  20. zeeshan2

    zeeshan2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    55,442
    Likes Received:
    65,158
    <blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Summary of the L2M report: Ginobili on the line, Waiters fouled Ginobili, Mills fouled Adams, Kawhi fouled Westbrook, Ibaka fouled Aldridge.</p>&mdash; Royce Young (@royceyoung) <a href="https://twitter.com/royceyoung/status/727587505021689857">May 3, 2016</a></blockquote>
    <script async src="//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
     

Share This Page