1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Basketball Question.

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by ElVenezolano, Sep 11, 2004.

  1. ElVenezolano

    ElVenezolano Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was discussing this the other game in a pick up game. And i was intrigued if i was right do any of you know for certain and were i could see the nba rule book online ??

    This is the question...

    If your playing ball and your near the sideline and your dribbling the ball and for any reason you are going to fall out of bounds so you leave the ball bouncing in bounce and you go out of bounds so then you fall back in bounce and start dribbling again is that legal??
     
  2. Jeff

    Jeff Clutch Crew

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    22,412
    Likes Received:
    362
    Unlike football, the out of bounds in basketball is not an ultimate line of demarkation so, yes, you could fall out of bounds while the ball remained in, come back in and take your dribble again. As long as you are not touching the ball while out of bounds, it isn't out.

    One thing, the ball must remain bouncing and you must then either recover your dribble or pick the ball up when you get back in bounds. In other words, as long as no one else has touched it while you were out of bounds, it remains a single possession and if you were to pick it up and start your dribble again, it would be double dribble.
     
  3. Sane

    Sane Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Messages:
    7,330
    Likes Received:
    0
    In other words, yes, you can.
     
  4. giddyup

    giddyup Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    20,466
    Likes Received:
    488
    And my question which has never been answered to my knowledge: what is the ruling if a free-throw shooter loses posession of the ball (say by dribbling it off his foot in a pre-shot routine) before actually attempting the shot?

    Is that a "missed free-throw" or is there some kind of do-over?
     
  5. ragingFire

    ragingFire Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,671
    Likes Received:
    0
    The rule says: after you go out of bound, you can come back and re-establish position in bound, i.e. having both feet back on the floor in bound, then you can continue.
     
  6. ragingFire

    ragingFire Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,671
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it was not an attempt at the basket, the ref would let you try again. You also have to abide by the 10 sec rule but if you are not deliberately wasting time, the ref would not call a violation against you though.
     
  7. Behad

    Behad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    12,358
    Likes Received:
    193
    Jeff, Sane, and ragingFire....Wrong.

    The rules state:

    Section III-Dribble
    a. A player shall not run with the ball without dribbling it.
    b. A player in control of a dribble who steps on or outside a boundary line, even though not touching the ball while on or outside that boundary line, shall not be allowed to return inbounds and continue his dribble. He may not even be the first player to touch the ball after he has re-established a position inbounds.
     
  8. ragingFire

    ragingFire Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Man, you r not kidding ... that is what the rule says ...
    I have been wrong all these yrs!!

    (I used to have a rule book, which I read from cover to cover several times, and I swear that how I remember it)
     
  9. Behad

    Behad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    12,358
    Likes Received:
    193
    I've coached for 8 years...I know all the rules by heart.
     
  10. JayZ750

    JayZ750 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2000
    Messages:
    25,432
    Likes Received:
    13,390
    Somebody else has to touch the ball first. What you guys are thinking about is if someone passes you the ball while you are out of bounds. In that case, if you get both feet in bounds before catching the ball it is ok.
     
  11. IVFL

    IVFL Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,417
    Likes Received:
    545

    This is a good question, but I would add, if you dribble the ball of your foot at the FREE-THROW LINE, then more than likley its going to be a missed free-throw :p
     
  12. Stack24

    Stack24 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    11,766
    Likes Received:
    1,737
    took me forever to figure out what a team rebound was that wasn't credited to any players.
     
  13. ragingFire

    ragingFire Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you sure you got it figured out? ;)
     
  14. moomoo

    moomoo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,545
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've asked a similar question before on here, but never got a clear answer.

    My situation was different because I wasn't "in control of a dribble" before I stepped out of bounds. I was going for a loose ball, and before flying out of bounds, I batted the ball back in bounds. No one else was near the ball, so I re-established position in bounds and grabbed the ball.

    Someone on the other team called me on it, saying that I can't be the first one to touch the ball. But I did NOT have control of the ball in the first place, I wasn't "in control of a dribble".

    Legal or illegal?

    You make the call.
     
  15. Behad

    Behad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    12,358
    Likes Received:
    193
    No, not legal, you passed it to youself.
     
  16. moomoo

    moomoo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,545
    Likes Received:
    1
    Doh!

    Got it. Thanks.
     
  17. AMS

    AMS Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    9,646
    Likes Received:
    218
    yep, its like a self pass if you leave the ball and come back to get it. So i guess you get called for traveling.
     
  18. Sane

    Sane Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Messages:
    7,330
    Likes Received:
    0
    If that's in the rule book, it's not enforced by the referees strictly because I had a video on my computer for years to prove it wrong everytime someone asked about it...

    Maybe someone can find it? Kobe is running a fastbreak alone, and he's basically taking huge steps, at some point he bounces it high, steps out of bounds, comes back in continues dribbling takes a few long steps and slams it home.

    I'm am 100% sure that happened, as I said I used the video just to prove a bunch of people wrong.

    Maybe it's like the palming violation... they don't really enforce it anymore.
     
  19. moomoo

    moomoo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,545
    Likes Received:
    1
    yup, i remember James Posey did it once, too, when he was a Rocket, and it wasn't called. He saved a defensive rebound inbounds, then got himself back inbounds and started dribbling the ball (without picking it up) up the floor to start the fast break. can't remember which game though.
     
  20. HoneyNut Ichiro

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    1
    So, say you were running down the sidelines, and someone passes you the ball while you weren't looking. The ball bounces off your head, goes straight up in the air, and lands inbounds. You fall out of bounds for a split second and recover the ball. So, I'm guessing since you didn't have "control of the dribble" nor did you try to pass the ball, you can legally establish possession?
     

Share This Page