1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

We will win 50 games this season

Discussion in 'Houston Rockets: Game Action & Roster Moves' started by SpaceCity, Aug 25, 2000.

1. SpaceCity

SpaceCity Contributing Member

There, I said it.

Bring on the flames, I'm ready. My optimistic views have been missing from this board for quite some time now. I have no "sources" to confirm this nor have I studied stats until my eyes bled. I simply base this on my right as a die-hard fan to have blind faith in my team!

Actually, it's not all blind faith. I threw some logic in there, too.

The way i see it is that last year was a season of change. Things definetly did not go as planned last year. We had no intentions of green-lighting the youth movement. We were going to go with Pippen, Charles and Hakeem in the front court and Shandon, Cuttino and Steve in the back. Little did we know that Pippen would stab us in the back. Who would've thought that Barkley would suffer a season/career ending injury? Who would have expected Hakeem to come down with a weird asthma problem just when the rest of his body was coming around?

We had a season that began with the offense that you all love to hate and ended up creating an offense that may very well become just as difficult to defend as the other one was during the Championship years.

So in December we began the youth movement. It was a painful first half of the season. I don't think anyone really expected us to do so bad.

It tool a while but the team started becoming a team. Steve grew up. Cuttino came into his own. Walt rediscovered his shooting touch. Shandon got comfortable with the team and found his niche. Kenny surprised a lot of people and proved that he, too, could make an impact in his rookie season.