1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

The Teflon Don Part II

Discussion in 'Houston Rockets: Game Action & Roster Moves' started by Asian Sensation, Apr 19, 2016.

1. Asian Sensation

Starring Patrick Beverley

This team will go nowhere so long as Patrick Beverley is our starting point guard.

I've been saying this for 3 years now. I love his effort and tenacity but he's just not good enough to be starter in this league. He has an extremely limited skill-set trying to play a position that requires the most skills in the game.

His shooting is decent at best when he's on, he has the worst handles out of any PG in the league including backups. He has no vision. Zero playmaking ability. No go to move. Can't create for himself and his biggest flaw is that he can't create for others either. You can be a successful PG in this league even if you're one dimensional and you're a scoring PG or a passing PG. you can't be neither. You just can't. There's never been a successful PG in this league who's only asset was defense.

He never gets his teammates easy scoring opportunities. To make matters worse this team severely lacks playmakers outside of Harden so everyone else is basically useless when they're not getting the ball on time at the right spot. This where Parsons is missed. You take a look at Ariza's breakout year in Washington it comes as no surprise since Wall was passing him timely dimes. When's the last time Ariza got a real wide open 3 pointer while spotting up? All I see is off target passes where he has to either move from his area where he's spotting up, catch and dribble because the pass is off and reset and then he hesitates or is out of rhythm and fire up a brick.