1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Got "got" by XP total security

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by ketchupNmustard, May 29, 2011.

1. ketchupNmustard

I was just surfing the web, and somehow XP got onto my computer and now I can't do anything without crazy ass pop ups telling me to buy their fake software. I can't surf using any of the browsers on my laptop.

I have no clue what to do to start ridding my computer of it and I'm a broke college student so geek squad can't rip me off this time, someone help, I'll rep you!

2. ketchupNmustard

I can't use my browser to download this ( I'm on my iPhone) is there a way to stop the software from hijacking my browser and just showing a warning page?

3. what

what Member

Format, delete.

4. The Real Shady

The Real Shady Contributing Member

5. Preston27

Preston27 Contributing Member

Make sure your internet isn't using a proxy set by the virus. Malwarbytes removed win 7 total security for me.

6. Air Langhi

Air Langhi Contributing Member

7. Poloshirtbandit

Is this the one that eventually makes your entire C drive hidden?

8. ketchupNmustard

How do I do that, I just tried safe mode and Total Security still showed up and prevented me from browsing.

Im in a pickle! I have a summer school project due and everything is closed memorial day, I need my laptop lol!

9. TheChosenOne

TheChosenOne Contributing Member

This might not be a very helpful question, but do you have any other computers? If you do and have a blank cd, it's possible to burn something like Ultimate Windows Boot CD and run the spyware utilities that come with it. Then you would boot back into Windows without it and ideally problem solved.

If not, what exactly is it doing? Any attempt to browse the internet is blocked or severely crippled?