1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

The economy

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout: Debate & Discussion' started by NewRoxFan, Aug 18, 2019.

1. AleksandarN

AleksandarN Member

Since the economy is doing so great why have the deficit gone up shouldn’t it go down? When the economy slows down eventually what happens to the deficit then?

fchowd0311 likes this.
  2. Invisible Fan

Invisible Fan Contributing Member

Trump specializes on the Atlantic City economy.

3. rocketsjudoka

rocketsjudoka Contributing Member
    Supporting Member

I had a debate with some die hard Trump supporting friends a few months ago and they admitted that the economy isn't doing well for them. One of them is a firefighter and the other is contractor. Both live in ex-urban Minnesota. For me as an urban based architect I will admit that the economy is actually doing very well for me. My work is in high demand and my stock portfolio is doing very well. The people who aren't winning from this economy are Trump's base and the ones who are benefiting the most are the very people who oppose Trump. For poorer or working class people like my friends who aren't heavily invested in the market stock gains make little. At the same time for me working for developers the flow of easy money makes my services in high demand. For a small contractor though the massive increase in cost for labor and materials is driving their margins down. At the same time for Trump supporting friends things like health care costs are getting more burdensome. I've actually benefited from the tax cut as I've moved into a higher income bracket. Those who aren't in higher income brackets aren't.