1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

What is the purpose of the old testament?

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout: Debate & Discussion' started by arno_ed, Feb 23, 2015.

Tags:
  1. FranchiseBlade

FranchiseBlade Contributing Member
    Supporting Member

I'm no expert, and it's probably foolish for me to try and explain my understanding in the limited way required on a bbs. But I'll give it a shot.

I think one part of it is that the important part is the message behind the stories and not necessarily the details. So yes God in his bet with Satan did horrible things to a good guy. The message is that staying true to your principles and beliefs even in tough times is a good thing. That's true even if there's an easier way out by abandoning your values.

It's kind of like how Robin Hood has a message against tyranny. It isn't to glorify taking weapons and robbing and stealing from passers by.

The other reason some of the heroes of the OT do such horrible things might be to show that despite how horrible some of these "heroes" are they are still chosen by God and can serve a good purpose. So even greatly flawed people can still do great things and be loved by God.

Another thing that shouldn't be overlooked, is that the people who wrote the stories lacked some understanding and enlightenment that we have hopefully gained since they were writing those stories.

Jesus himself claimed that he didn't come to change the OT but to fulfill it. So if we look at the actions of Jesus they aren't mass killings and selling wives off etc. They would go along with the messages that the bloody examples were trying to prove.

If that's the fulfillment of the OT then it makes sense that the messages behind the stories were what was important all along.

2. Cohete Rojo