1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Western Conference Semifinals: (2) Oklahoma City vs. (3) LA Clippers

Discussion in 'NBA Dish' started by J.R., May 4, 2014.

?

(2) Oklahoma City vs. (3) LA Clippers

Poll closed May 6, 2014.
  1. Thunder in 4

    1.4%
  2. Thunder in 5

    2.9%
  3. Thunder in 6

    20.0%
  4. Thunder in 7

    24.3%
  5. Clippers in 7

    20.0%
  6. Clippers in 6

    28.6%
  7. Clippers in 5

    1.4%
  8. Clippers in 4

    1.4%
  1. t_mac1

    t_mac1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    26,614
    Likes Received:
    211
  2. morpheus133

    morpheus133 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    180
    I can't really feel sorry for the clippers with Paul and Griffin's constant flopping, whining about missed calls. As many have already pointed out, the clippers getting "screwed" by not benefiting from a missed call is a pretty poor excuse when being rewarded the ball would have meant the Thunder got screwed on the no foul call. So the the Thunder are supposed to just live with the bad call, but the Clippers aren't?



    Besides did no one notice the illegal screen Griffin did on the last play? Even NFL refs would call holding on that... He has Durant in a bear hug by the end.

    [youtube]7-af9ALfEdk[/youtube]
     
  3. BleedRocketsRed

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    7,094
    Likes Received:
    611
  4. Amiga

    Amiga Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    25,051
    Likes Received:
    23,313
    Yea, it's quite unbelievable. To the point where you think CP3 had some money in the game. just j/k.
     
  5. pahiyas

    pahiyas Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    564
    They probably applied a variation of below rule to justify. It is justified, IMHO.

    Rule 8, Section 2C of the NBA’s rulebook (just copied this-not sure of veracity)

    “If a player has his hand in contact with the ball and an opponent hits the hand causing the ball to go out-of-bounds, the team whose player had his hand on the ball will retain possession.”
     
  6. wekko368

    wekko368 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    8,915
    Likes Received:
    1,028
    Why should it have been a foul on Barnes? The hand is part of the ball. It was a clean strip. Had the ball gone out of bounds immediately after Barnes dislodged it, it should've been OKC ball. However, it looked like Reggie Jackson hit the ball with his right hand after the ball was initially dislodged. If he did, the Clippers should've gotten the ball.
     
  7. t_mac1

    t_mac1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    26,614
    Likes Received:
    211
    Even Doc Rivers admitted it was a foul.
     
  8. wekko368

    wekko368 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    8,915
    Likes Received:
    1,028
    And what does the rule book say? Which has greater authority....Doc Rivers or the rule book?
     
  9. BleedRocketsRed

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    7,094
    Likes Received:
    611
    Its a foul on the rulebook.
     
  10. t_mac1

    t_mac1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    26,614
    Likes Received:
    211
    The wrist is part of the ball?
     
  11. wekko368

    wekko368 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    8,915
    Likes Received:
    1,028
    The hand is part of the ball. Are you saying that Barnes hit Jackson's wrist and not his hand?
     
  12. t_mac1

    t_mac1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    26,614
    Likes Received:
    211
    Both. Thus it was a foul.
     
  13. wekko368

    wekko368 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    8,915
    Likes Received:
    1,028
    http://www.nba.com/features/misunderstoodrules_051128.html

     
  14. BleedRocketsRed

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    7,094
    Likes Received:
    611
    That doesn't apply in this case, contact wasn't even with the hand which had the ball
     
  15. wekko368

    wekko368 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    8,915
    Likes Received:
    1,028
    Are we talking about the same play? The one with 11 seconds left in the game?
     
  16. wekko368

    wekko368 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    8,915
    Likes Received:
    1,028
    If Barnes hit the ball as well as Jackson's hand, why wouldn't you consider the wrist to be incidental contact?
     
  17. t_mac1

    t_mac1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    26,614
    Likes Received:
    211
    The thing is, he didn't hit any part of the ball. It was a foul period.

    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/q2CoiBaTb5k" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
     
  18. wekko368

    wekko368 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    8,915
    Likes Received:
    1,028
    I suggest you watch the video again, especially from the 25 second mark. It looks like Barnes' fingertips hit the ball, but he primarily gets Jackson's hand. It doesn't even look like he hits Jackson's wrist, but even if he did, why wouldn't that be considered incidental contact?
     
  19. JuanValdez

    JuanValdez Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    35,052
    Likes Received:
    15,227
    If we're thinking about the out-of-bounds rule, does it matter if his other hand hit the ball? The opponent hitting his hand caused it to go out-of-bounds, so it's out on him. It doesn't say anything there about who last touched the ball:

    “If a player has his hand in contact with the ball and an opponent hits the hand causing the ball to go out-of-bounds, the team whose player had his hand on the ball will retain possession.”
     
  20. wekko368

    wekko368 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    8,915
    Likes Received:
    1,028
    Incorrect. If the ball hit Jackson's right hand before going out of bounds, then Jackson's right hand caused the ball to go out of bounds. At that point, it wouldn't matter that Barnes had initially dislodged it.
     

Share This Page