1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Wade's "Travel"

Discussion in 'NBA Dish' started by jgreen91, May 28, 2013.

  1. Canadiandude

    Canadiandude Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    176
    http://www.nba.com/analysis/rules_10.html

    http://www.nba.com/nba101/misunderstood_0708.html
     
  2. pacertom

    pacertom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    359
    clear travel

    If you are looking for a 100% crystal clear bad call that dramatically affected play, here's your call:

    according to courtside witnesses, Joey Crawford ruled on the 24 second violation and refused to consult with the other officials, saying "I have it it right" and refusing to listen to anyone else.

    It was not eligible for replay review, being outside if the last 2 minutes
     
  3. sugrlndkid

    sugrlndkid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    11,543
    Likes Received:
    1,780
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/7nrFRnP_vcs" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

    Game 4 of the Eastern Conference finals was lamentably over-officiated, reducing an engaging contest to fits and starts. Few possessions Tuesday seemed to run their course without a whistle, and between them, the Pacers and Heat combined for 55 fouls despite the game’s glacial pace.

    The referees made their presence felt throughout Indiana’s 99-92 victory, particularly in the final minute of the fourth quarter with crucial calls against Miami. The first was a moving screen violation called against LeBron James with 56 seconds remaining and the Heat trailing 96-92, his sixth foul. There’s some room for debate on the merits of that call, but at the very least James sidesteps in a way that trips Lance Stephenson before the Heat forward is able to establish proper screening position.


    The second call, a traveling violation against Dwyane Wade with 26.9 seconds left and the Heat still down 96-92, proved to be even more questionable. In that instance, the whistle came on a sequence that Wade executes in virtually every game: the one-dribble step-back. After losing Paul George with an initial pump fake, Wade takes a single dribble inside the three-point arc, hops back to his opposite foot behind the line and settles in for yet another pump fake. In real time, the slow speed of Wade’s step-back makes the move seem illegal. But by slowing down the footage and evaluating Wade’s move according to the wording of the traveling rule, we find that isn’t the case

    For reference, here is the full text of the relevant passage from the NBA’s 2012-13 official rules (Rule 10, Section XIII, item b):

    “A player who receives the ball while he is progressing or upon completion of a dribble, may take two steps in coming to a stop, passing or shooting the ball. A player who receives the ball while he is progressing must release the ball to start his dribble before his second step.
    The first step occurs when a foot, or both feet, touch the floor after gaining control of the ball.”
    The operative word is bolded above, as the most crucial determination to be made on this play is when Wade gains control of the ball. If he gathers his dribble either simultaneously or slightly after planting his foot (as appears to be the case), then his play is legitimate. If he gains control before taking that step, then it would count as the first in his sequence and thus make the play a violation.

    In real time, the slow execution of Wade’s step-back seems to give it a physically impossible hitch — as if he paused for a brief moment in mid-air before landing. Plays with odd timing typically invite fan reaction and a possible whistle, and unfortunately Wade’s move proved too unusual for the officials to properly evaluate the legality of his footwork.
     
  4. sugrlndkid

    sugrlndkid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    11,543
    Likes Received:
    1,780

    http://nba.si.com/2013/05/29/dwyane-wade-travel-heat-pacers-east-finals/?sct=hp_t2_a5&eref=sihp
     
  5. joe101

    joe101 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    10
    You are grossly misinterpreting the rules. Don't just look at the feet, look at the hands and the feet in totality. The moment he puts two hands on the ball, it a stop, period. He stopped on his right foot, which became the pivot. Hop moves are legal when you start with one hand palming the ball, and it's ok to put the other hand on the ball during in the progression of the hop. If you put two hands on the ball and then hop with both feet, it's a travel.

     
  6. TheReason

    TheReason Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    10
    No, timing has everything to do with it. Kobe's step-back is a perfect example of how to execute it correctly. You have to pick the ball up AFTER your forward foot leaves the ground, otherwise you will have established that foot as your pivot foot and can't jump off of it and land again with ball still in hand.
     
  7. rokit

    rokit Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    26
    makes sense, otherwise it would be egal to stop after taking two steps while going for a layup or something
     
  8. tinywang

    tinywang Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    351

    Not the same at all. Tmac caught the ball and hasn't even dribbled yet.
     
  9. joe101

    joe101 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    10
  10. Pieman2005

    Pieman2005 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4,070
    Likes Received:
    188
    why is there so much confusion? He did a dribble step, picked up his dribble, planted a pivot foot, then stepped back again.. that is traveling

    A normal step back would be picking up the dribble and stepping back at the same time.
     
  11. pacertom

    pacertom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    359
    That's what we keep hearing on the Lebron foul, from all media today.

    The facts are, though:

    Lebron didn't trip him, Lebron in fact stepped on Stephenson's foot.

    Look at the still photo and notice Stephenson's left foot on the floor and Lebron coming down on his toe. Thus Stephenson stumbled not because "he sold the tripping call" but rather because he had no choice- his foot was stepped on!

    So even if in your wildest dreams you think that setting a pick with your feet 6 feet apart is legal, blocking progress of a defender by stepping on his foot is not.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Canadiandude

    Canadiandude Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    176
    You don't realize that we are in agreement.
    .
    I'm explaining in terms the transference of his pivot foot from right foot to left foot.

    As stated in the rule, the initial foot (Wade's right) touching the floor is the pivot foot. This does not mean he can't bring his left foot down. As a matter of fact, he can take all the steps he wants with his left foot as long as his pivot foot is down (and not dragging around). However:

    "g. If a player, with the ball in his possession, raises his pivot foot [Wade's right foot] off the floor, he must pass or shoot before his pivot foot returns to the floor."

    Wade clearly brought his pivot foot down before he passed the ball after he had hopped from his right foot to his left foot.
     
  13. heypartner

    heypartner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1999
    Messages:
    63,510
    Likes Received:
    59,001
    clear travel

    he established his right foot as a pivot foot by picking up the ball, then he steps back with his left and raises his right, pivot foot and sets it back down.

    It's a legal step back if he hadn't stopped his dribble with his right foot planted.
     
  14. BEAT LA

    BEAT LA Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    7,662
    Likes Received:
    197
    Stop assuming.

    I never said he wanted two small market teams. The Spurs are the most popular team internationally, and the Heat will make it to the finals. Making sure the Pacers won 1 game does not mean they want them to win the series.

    The Pacers and Grizzlies are in the bottom 5 in tickets sales despite being perennial playoff teams. They would not sell anything if they were the Rockets the last 4 years. The Pacers are especially bad, so he is making it interesting since they have to compete with the Colts and the Indy 500 for sports fans in Indiana.
     
  15. RedRedemption

    RedRedemption Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    32,542
    Likes Received:
    7,752
    Jesus Christ why do we have all these idiot homers on this board? Go join a crappy Pacers forum.
    I really hope Miami destroys the Pacers so I don't have to read this homer's posts anymore.
     
  16. RedRedemption

    RedRedemption Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    32,542
    Likes Received:
    7,752
    Yes. Every spin move is a travel.
    Most players in the NBA also pivot after hopsteps, illegally.

    Idiots here trying to equate middle school ball with NBA ball. If every travel were called in the NBA then each team would only score around 52 points per game.

    Now people arguing that the dribble handoff was a travel? Sure. But not the stepback.
     
  17. BEAT LA

    BEAT LA Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    7,662
    Likes Received:
    197
    No, it's not just the week off.

    The Spurs look mighty strong after sweeping the Grizzlies everyone said would beat them in 5 or 6.

    The Heat are struggling against the same Pacers team as last year minus Granger after adding Ray Allen, Birdman, and Lewis. Throw in the fact that LeBron has improved this season again, and everyone should be thinking they will sweep the Spurs this year. The same Spurs team who was beat in 5 by a much tougher OKC team who the Heat beat in 5.

    Idiots will actually think they will win a lot of money once they see how much they can make betting on the Spurs to win the series and cover each spread. Truth is Miami will crush any team if the refs are calling it in their favor (see the difference in officiating in games 1 and 2 Heat v. Bulls).
     
  18. Geaux Rockets

    Geaux Rockets Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    29
    "A player who receives the ball while he is progressing or upon completion of a dribble, may take two steps in coming to a stop"

    That sounds to me like, no, it's not a stop as soon as he puts his hands on the ball. Him putting two hands on the ball signals the completion of his dribble, at which point he may take two steps in coming to a stop.

    Please explain how, with the quoted rule above in mind, Wade would not be permitted to take two steps after he picked up his dribble. You can't say he stopped because he picked up his dribble, because the rule quite clearly states that you're allowed two steps before you stop upon completion of your dribble.
     
  19. WFU Guy

    WFU Guy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    30
    I think it's simpler than that pacertom, - James cannot possibly be legally set if his foot is coming to rest on "top" of a moving Stephenson. So you are right in several ways, the picture just points out the most obvious way he was not set.
     
  20. Rocket River

    Rocket River Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 1999
    Messages:
    65,013
    Likes Received:
    32,712
    Is it a situation where . . if he shoots its not a travel but if he passes the ball it is?

    Rocket River
     

Share This Page