The whistle went before the 'shuffle' though. Lends me to think the refs thought there was an issue with the stepback. Which there wasn't....
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/mc369v9ES5o" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> <iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/v5kVKPwLlDk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
looks like a sweet stepback, his left foot is still gliding behind the 3 point line in rhythm of his dribble.
CanadianDude, at what point do you think it's it a travel? I want to make sure we are on the same page. I am going by when they blew the whistle after the step back, so I think they whistled him for the step back. The master at work.
Alright I see that the NBA clearly has different rules than regular basketball competition based on that first move by McGrady, which is very similar to Wade's. Funny how after having established a pivot foot and thus come to a stop, your allowed to do a stepback move (two steps) and then establish your pivot foot again.
I don't think you understand perfect footwork. As much as I hate him, watch Kobe. Best footwork in the league. You have to make the step back as you are catching the ball. It's a lay up going away from the hoop. The awkward timing on it is what made it a travel. You can't pick up the ball, take 2 steps, land, then shoot. It really isn't even debatable. Just because they let Lebron get away with crab dribbles doesn't mean the rules have changed, it just means the refs suck.
It's ok pivot before you dribble after you catch the ball. You have to start your dribble before you take your first step. Wade never established his pivot foot. Similar to this stepback: <iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/xM3xxJ2GLJ4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> What? Timing has nothing to do with it. When ending his dribble a player may use a two count rhythm in coming to a stop, passing or shooting.
That's not what I was referring to but I see now that Wade never dribbled before coming to a stop - I assume T-mac didn't either. He basically received a pass and still had complete freedom to do whatever he wanted. So the stepback move was not a travel and it looks like they blew the call. Jumped to conclusions too quickly
Very close call but I've always thought that if you take two steps like that and then pause, which he did when he hesitated and then passed, it's a travel. Basically he switched pivot foots. If he would have gone up immediately with the shot after the jump or jumped and passed, he would have been fine.
Wade actually traveled twice in sequence. Shuffled his feet after he caught the ball, then on his step back move. There is a fundamental difference in Wade's step back and Kobe's. Look at where they actually pick up their dribble. Wade shifts his momentum from his quick dribble towards the basketball, picks up his dribble while he is exclusively on his right foot, then pauses to shift weight from his right foot too his left. Kobe, however picks his dribble up after having shifted his weight from his right to his left. The two count rhythm you're referring has to literally be completed in rhythm. No pauses in between the steps. Otherwise you are shifting from one pivot to another, which Wade clearly did.
not sure how the nba and ncaa traveling rules are different but according to ncaa he traveled: Art. 3. A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling may stop and establish a pivot foot as follows: a. When both feet are off the playing court and the player lands: 1. Simultaneously on both feet, either may be the pivot foot; 2. On one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch shall be the pivot foot; 3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both; neither foot can be the pivot foot. b. When one foot is on the playing court: 1. That foot shall be the pivot foot when the other foot touches in a step; 2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both; neither foot can then be the pivot foot. when wade gathers the ball (catches the ball) his right foot is on the floor, so he can either use that foot as a pivot or he can go to a jump stop with no pivot. if he had gathered while in the air then his step back would have been legal. again, not sure if the nba rule actually allows players to do something different from ncaa players, but either way, traveling is the hardest thing for refs to call. most of the time if something looks funny, they call a travel.
There isn't a fundamental difference in terms of the rules regarding traveling, in any league, unless you're counting the And 1 Mix tour. There is a gap in how the rule is enforced.
With these rules, it looks like if he had hopped back and landed both feet behind the 3-pt line at the same time, he would have been fine per a.3. So the only difference between what he did and a legal step back is a tenth of a second of timing. I have to say, playing streetball as a kid, we were a lot more draconian about what you could do after picking up your dribble. It seems like the NBA allows all kinds of movement after picking up the ball. We didn't tolerate the hop-steps or step backs. (Granted, many a game ended in stupid arguments and pushing fights over ticky-tack bs calls.)
It didn't look like a travel. He dribbled and then took two steps back. That is a call the refs never make at the end of a game.
Haven't read the entire thread. Has anyone mentioned the mythical 24 second violation called on the Pacers earlier in the 4th? Hasbrough's rebound/put-back was waived off.