1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Wade's "Travel"

Discussion in 'NBA Dish' started by jgreen91, May 28, 2013.

  1. BEAT LA

    BEAT LA Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    7,662
    Likes Received:
    197
    Most of you guys need to look up the rules. The step back was two steps. It does not matter which direction you use the two steps, BUT you get two steps after you pick up your dribble. A step back uses both steps. The first foot to land is the pivot foot. It does not matter if you do it quickly, slowly, or jerky.
     
  2. Canadiandude

    Canadiandude Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    176
    Except, it was a travel.
     
  3. BEAT LA

    BEAT LA Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    7,662
    Likes Received:
    197
    Not on the step back. If you want to argue it was a really late whistle and he shuffled his feet before dribbling (lol at this even being called, because wade is the master of this) then you might have something.
     
  4. Canadiandude

    Canadiandude Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    176
    It is clearly a travel.

    [step #1] He picks up with ball while taking a right jab step. He establishes his right foot as the pivot.

    [step #2]Then, since he lands on only one foot, his left, he has to jump off of that foot only. By bringing down his right foot after the left, he re-establishes his left foot at this point as the pivot.

    The only way he's allowed to jump off of both feet is if he landed on both feet simultaneously after the initial right jab step.
     
  5. TISNF

    TISNF Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    79
    Clearly a travel. This is only a big deal because that idiot Steve Javie called up ESPN and told them it wasn't.

    Gee I sure wonder why he's still not a ref.
     
  6. BEAT LA

    BEAT LA Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    7,662
    Likes Received:
    197
    He picks up his dribble with his right foot on the ground. This means if he takes another step his left foot is automatically his pivot foot. He can turn against it all he wants, but he can not move it. He takes one step back. Now his right foot can do whatever he wants, but his left foot has to stay planted. He keeps his left foot planted and passes it to battier. They called a travel for that. The refs blew the calll.
     
  7. LBJ-Tmac

    LBJ-Tmac Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    13
    I think technically when he steps back he has to land on both feet. Same with the Harden one.

    Its just if you do it fluidly and quickly they can let you get away with it.

    HOwever Wade's 2 steps were ridiculously slow.
     
  8. Asian Sensation

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 1999
    Messages:
    18,256
    Likes Received:
    7,358
    Tis correct.
     
  9. Nelly

    Nelly Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,931
    Likes Received:
    196
    I think the refs were just thrown off bc he stepped back so slowly. Usually step backs are very quick moves, so I can understand why it looked like a travel. But technically it wasn't a travel. I've seen James Harden take many more steps than that.
     
  10. OTMax

    OTMax Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    8,352
    Likes Received:
    3,670
    Haha that's as clear a travel as you will ever see on step back. He has already taken a step after having established his left foot as the pivot. If he wanted to do the step back he should've done that immediately by jumping of his left foot after the pump fake. You cannot just take a step, after having established that pivot foot and then do the step back off of the other foot.

    A normal step back is on a dribble drive where you have not established a pivot foot, jump off of the foot closest to the rim backwards followed by both feet planted and taking the jump shot.

    Since people are arguing about this, the NBA has probably made some exceptions that do not follow the basic rules of how many steps you can take, the establishing of the pivot foot and so forth.
     
  11. BEAT LA

    BEAT LA Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    7,662
    Likes Received:
    197
    This logic does not make sense. He has to do it quickly. It screams you guys automatically side with the refs. Watch the video.

    FORGET the fact that he is stepping back because it does not matter which direction he steps in. Now pretend he has his right foot on the floor with his left foot off the ground. He picks up his dribble, and his feet are not on the ground at the same time. THIS AUTOMATICALLY makes his left foot his pivot foot once he sets it on the ground.

    So he takes 1 step forward. Now, How is that a travel? He took one step, and he can move his right foot all he wants. Look up the rules, watch youtube videos learn what a pivot foot is. You will know that NBA players get away with travels all the time, and that this was not a travel.
     
  12. Canadiandude

    Canadiandude Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    176
    http://www.nba.com/nba101/misunderstood_0708.html

    If a player comes to a stop on the count of one when both feet are on the floor or touch the floor simultaneously, he may pivot using either foot as his pivot.

    If a player has one foot on the floor or lands with one foot first to the floor, he may only pivot with that foot. Once that foot is lifted from the floor to shoot or pass it may not return until the ball is released. If a player jumps off one foot on the count of one he may land with both feet simultaneously for count two. In this situation, the player may not pivot with either foot and if one or both feet leave the floor the ball must be released before either return to the floor. When a player gathers the ball he may not step consecutively with the same foot, as in a hopping motion.
     
    1 person likes this.
  13. josephnicks

    josephnicks Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,900
    Likes Received:
    253
    gif looks like he completed his gather on his right step, which should have been his pivot then did the step back.. which would be a travel. im all for breaking down the rules and justifying non travel calls because because people still cant grasp the idea of gather steps but this certainly falls under a travel.. even then it took slo-mo to catch it. refs are on point catching this one..

    bottom line is he changed his pivot
     
  14. BEAT LA

    BEAT LA Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    7,662
    Likes Received:
    197

    I love how you post the snippet of the already confusing rules. They made the language even more confusing in 09 for some reason.

    That section does not apply here, because wade dribbled and took 1 step backwards after the dribble.

    You get two steps. He was dribbling, and he stopped on his right foot. He took 1 step back landing on his left foot. If he moves that pivot foot then it is a travel. Very simple.
     
  15. Canadiandude

    Canadiandude Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    176
    Not to be rude, but if you are confused by the rules, perhaps you're not in position to make an argument.
     
  16. BEAT LA

    BEAT LA Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    7,662
    Likes Received:
    197
    Traveling:
    To start a dribble after establishing a pivot foot, the ball must be released from the player’s hand before his pivot foot leaves the floor or he has committed a traveling violation. A player who receives the ball while moving is allowed a two count rhythm but must release the ball prior to the third step touching the floor. When ending his dribble a player may use a two count rhythm in coming to a stop, passing or shooting. A player who fall s (nice typo) to the floor while holding the ball or while coming to a stop may not gain an advantage by rolling on the floor. A player who attempts a shot may not be the first to touch the ball if it fails to touch the backboard, rim or another player. If a player comes to a stop on the count of one when both feet are on the floor or touch the floor simultaneously, he may pivot using either foot as his pivot. If he alights with both feet he must release the ball before either foot touches the floor. If a player has one foot on the floor or lands with one foot first to the floor, he may only pivot with that foot. Once that foot is lifted from the floor to shoot or pass it may not return until the ball is released. If a player jumps off one foot on the count of one he may land with both feet simultaneously for count two. In this situation, the player may not pivot with either foot and if one or both feet leave the floor the ball must be released before either return to the floor. When a player gathers the ball he may not step consecutively with the same foot, as in a hopping motion.

    http://www.nba.com/nba101/misunderstood_0708.html

    I am not confused. Stu Jackson complained about the NBA changing the rules in 09 and they claimed they only changed the language. The truth is travels are subjective to the official's discretion.

    [​IMG]

    *Catches ball
    *Pump fakes
    *Stars dribble before taking first step
    At this point he has 1 more step/count. The direction does not matter.
    *Uses it to take step back
    *Left foot is pivot foot
     
  17. Koperboy

    Koperboy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    810
    All teams get all sorts of bad calls, but when Miami receives it, all hell brakes loose. Give me a break...
     
  18. Canadiandude

    Canadiandude Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    176
    "A player who receives the ball while moving is allowed a two count rhythm."

    How is he a player who received the ball while moving if he stopped to pump fake...
     
  19. BEAT LA

    BEAT LA Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    7,662
    Likes Received:
    197
    I bolded this part:

    When ending his dribble a player may use a two count rhythm in coming to a stop, passing or shooting.

    Nowhere does it say anything about receiving the ball. I think you are mistaken. Wade never began his dribble before the pump fake.

    [​IMG]

    *Catches ball
    -Still has dribble
    *Pump fakes
    -Still has dribble
    *Starts dribble before taking first step (or else it's a travel)
    -Takes first step
    -Picks up dribble after completing first step.
    When ending his dribble a player may use a two count rhythm in coming to a stop, passing or shooting.
    *Uses first step to take step back
    *Left foot is now pivot foot and does not move (or else it's a travel)
    *Right foot can be used as much as he wants to stop, pass, or shoot

    <iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/OdGv9dLmhFg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

    How are these any different than Wade's stepback? Look at the ones at 1 minute and 1:14. Same moves.
     
  20. tburris872

    tburris872 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    Didn't some players back in the 90's & early 2000's, do a lot of jump stops & then jump again to shoot or do a layup. Anyways it did look like Wade shuffled his feet.
     

Share This Page