You can take as many steps as you want after a dribble, as long as you don't change your pivot foot. The problem is that everyone seems to have completely different ideas of what a "pivot foot" is.
How is what Wade did any different from this? The only reason it looks different is because Wade didn't shoot right away, he passed. And it was a delayed pass. I think that's where they called it on the delayed pass. If he had shot it right away there is no way this would be called a travel. <iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/ugPWJLaG414" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
Video posted was not a travel. If it was, then every stepback in the league is a travel. I don't know if he traveled after the video ends while he passed off, but the video shows a legal stepback.
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/v5kVKPwLlDk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> Heres a video of it, below average quality though.
technically his right foot is his pivot, but i've rarely if ever seen the referees call "the first down" rule.
Ohhh!! Didn't see him slightly lift up his pivot foot on the pump fake. The gif didn't show that. Correct call was made. The pivot wasn't a travel, but when he pump faked his pivot foot shifted.
The travel wasn't called on the step back. Wade performed a legal stepback. But he shifted his pivot foot on the pump fake, thus the travel.
I'm ok with that explanation, but the step back is not the travel which proves Pacertom wrong so I'm happy.
It was a travel. He picked up the ball with both hands while his front foot was out, thus establishing his fron foot as the pivot foot. He picked up his pivot foot for the step back.
No, when he planted his stepback foot the ball wasn't in his hands yet, he was still in the dribbling motion. Wade travelled on the pump fake before the step back.
Not to argue whether or not that's a travel, since I'm not so sure myself(leaning towards not traveling). But I just find it funny that there's a thread on a travel call. Star players get overlooked for their traveling more than any other rule in the game. Of all the "wrong call" made against Wade, it's actually traveling?
So I was correct in saying that if he had shot the ball right away after the step back then it would not be a travel because it was a legal step back. This is where pacertom and some of the others are getting it wrong. The step back was perfectly fine.
Yep! that's it. You can actually hear the whistle before he makes the step back. Shuffled his feet before making the move forward. We can close this thread. That was a travel, but it wasn't on the step back so pacertom was wrong. Good night, I'm happy.