1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Working on a rig?

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by JD88, Mar 14, 2013.

1. jtagtp

jtagtp Member

I am a drill site manager. There is nothing wrong with working floor and working you way up. Business is booming and you can more up fairly quickly. Also check around, I know chevron is big on hiring military with no oilfield experience. They have military hiring events sometimes.

2. Tree-Mac

Tree-Mac Contributing Member

The material taught in college is not important, it's the skills developed. What some philosopher said 200 years ago is not important, but the ability to analyze what he said and present your views in a lucid manner develops skills such as persuasion and deductive reasoning.

If no one wants to learn history, then who would want to make history? As a former Marine, do you want people to forget about you? After you left the service, your service was just the past.

3. fchowd0311

fchowd0311 Contributing Member

JD I BEG you not to waste your 36 months of the GI bill on community college. The top public school in the nation is the same price as a local community college for us... FREE!! Why waste this invaluable opportunity on community college. You have the opportunity of being a resident of Texas which has two of the best public school in the country. Apply bro. Its FREE and you get paid an additional housing allowance. Choosing community college over universities akin to someone offering you a free new Honda Civic with free unlimited maintenance or a free new BMW M3 with free unlimited maintenance and choosing the civic.

4. KingCheetah

KingCheetah Contributing Member

Yeah man, don't waste an opportunity to get a college degree to work on a oil rig -- get your degree then make a decision.