1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Was that the worst call in NFL history?

Discussion in 'Football: NFL, College, High School' started by rolyat93, Sep 24, 2012.

  1. kevC

    kevC Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,394
    Likes Received:
    5,117
    For a call to be overturned, it has to be CONCLUSIVE. If the answer to the question "is there a chance he would've made a one-handed catch?" is yes, then it is INCONCLUSIVE and the ruling on the field cannot be overturned.

    Again, it's not really hypothetical vs. reality here, it's rather that if you consider a one handed catch a possibility, then it can be argued that Tate had possession of the ball with one hand since three hands (one Tate's, two Jennings') touched the ball and had a hold of it AT THE SAME TIME, and the hands remained there the entire way.
     
  2. The Cat

    The Cat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    20,819
    Likes Received:
    5,347
    That has absolutely nothing to do with the responsibility of the league to provide fair officiating. Completely irrelevant.
     
  3. The Cat

    The Cat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    20,819
    Likes Received:
    5,347
    The confusion (and I got it wrong at first, too) is because simultaneous possession is not reviewable in the field of play. It is in the end zone, however. That's the distinction that many didn't realize.
     
  4. MadMax

    MadMax Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 1999
    Messages:
    76,683
    Likes Received:
    25,924
    Help me understand something....and I'm being honest here....

    the rule is that if both players come down with the ball, the receiver gets the catch...right?

    Why is that not a catch given those rules? The Packers player is in the air when the Seahawks player is ripping it away and trying to catch it as well.

    What am I missing?
     
  5. kevC

    kevC Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,394
    Likes Received:
    5,117
    Here's a recap of my point:

    1) One handed catches are possible, therefore it is possible to have a one-handed possession.

    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/ZLq3SWnhgUE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

    2) Jennings and Tate had the ball at the exact same moment with Jennings having two hands around it, and Tate had one hand under it between the ball and Jennings' chest.

    [​IMG]

    3) Jennings and Tate fall to the ground and Tate has the ball with left hand on the ball arriving, then on the ground wrestles it away, but the left hand is on it ALL THE WAY to the ground.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    4) The rule states that it is not simultaneous catch if one player clearly has possession of the ball BEFORE the other, which I do not believe is the case here if the reviewer agrees with point 1) that one handed catches are possible.
     
  6. kevC

    kevC Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,394
    Likes Received:
    5,117
    People think the Seahawks player snuck his hand in there AFTER Jennings made the catch, which I don't believe is to be the case after inspection.
     
    #166 kevC, Sep 25, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2012
  7. The Cat

    The Cat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    20,819
    Likes Received:
    5,347
    There's a clause in the rulebook that it's not simultaneous if one player clearly has initial possession and the other puts his hands on it after. If you believe the Green Bay DB was the first to have possession and retained it, as I do, it doesn't matter if Tate came in a split-second later and grabbed part of it. That's an interception.
     
  8. juicystream

    juicystream Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2001
    Messages:
    30,606
    Likes Received:
    7,136
    If you don't understand at this point in your life, you never will.

    The NFL didn't even say they made the right call, just that they were right not to overturn it. The NFL knew they blew a judgement call, not that they didn't see something. The NFL only cares about protecting itself.
     
  9. juicystream

    juicystream Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2001
    Messages:
    30,606
    Likes Received:
    7,136
    How do you not see in this picture that Jennings is in possession of the ball? Saying Tate has possession is like saying Charles Woodson does just because he is touching the ball.
     
  10. kevC

    kevC Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,394
    Likes Received:
    5,117
    Please read over my posts in this thread. I agree that Jennings' has 100% possession of the ball, that is not the question. The question is that if you think Tate's one hand under the ball that ends up being between Jennings' chest and the ball is enough for qualify as having possession, then you can argue that it is simultaneous possession because the ball hits all three hands at the same time.

    I'm just saying it's not as clear-cut as everyone makes it out to be.
     
  11. rolyat93

    rolyat93 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6,354
    Likes Received:
    460
    The Packers player had full possession of the ball, holding it tight to his chest with both hands.
     
  12. kevC

    kevC Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,394
    Likes Received:
    5,117
    Whoops, meant to say Seahawks player. Edited. Jennings had complete possession of the ball, yes, but with Tate's under the ball between his chest.
     
  13. juicystream

    juicystream Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2001
    Messages:
    30,606
    Likes Received:
    7,136
    No, his hand, which doesn't even have the palm on the ball at the time Jennings catches it, should not qualify as possession. Tate does keep his hand on the ball, but how could he not since Jennings is pulling the ball down to his chest?
     
  14. kevC

    kevC Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,394
    Likes Received:
    5,117
    Like I said before, I actually agree it probably shouldn't count as possession, key word being PROBABLY. I'm just pointing out there at least an argument to be made and is not clear-cut, if you go by the letter of the rule.
     
  15. juicystream

    juicystream Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2001
    Messages:
    30,606
    Likes Received:
    7,136
    You say probably. I say an absolute. What you are saying is essentially what the NFL wants everyone to really believe, that it wasn't 100% clear.

    It is 100% clear to me.
     
  16. kevC

    kevC Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,394
    Likes Received:
    5,117
    Why is it so absolute though? No one's explained why it's so absolute. Because crazy stuff like the Randy Moss catch has happened before, isn't there at least a small chance that the one hand can be interpreted as possession? I thought this immediately when the initial replays were being made, not after anything the NFL has said. Like I said, I actually had a bet on the Packers beating the spread and am in no way a fan of the Seahawks, I don't believe there was any personal bias when I first looked at it.
     
  17. juicystream

    juicystream Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2001
    Messages:
    30,606
    Likes Received:
    7,136
    Randy Moss's catch isn't amazing. He grabbed a ball with his full hand and pulled it back in.

    It is clear that Tate didn't have possession when Jennings first did. Could Tate have caught that football? Yes. Did Tate have possession when Jennings first did? No.
     
  18. MadMax

    MadMax Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 1999
    Messages:
    76,683
    Likes Received:
    25,924
    Thank you!!!!! Helpful.
     
  19. dharocks

    dharocks Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    9,032
    Likes Received:
    1,969
    No. It shouldn't have been come down to this play (though the Seahawks defense is legit). In the 4th quarter, the Packers should have had possession at the SEA 26 when Wilson threw a pick that was overturned on a questionable roughing the passer flag. Same drive, the Packers should have gained possession at the SEA 43 when, on a 4th down play, Sidney Rice CLEARLY committed offensive pass interference against Sam Shields, but instead gets the call to go in his favor. Instead Green Bay began their last possession on their own 7 yard line.

    An hey, maybe the last (blown call) only leads to overtime if Rodgers isn't given a KICKING ball by the refs on the 2pt conversion in 4th quarter.
     
  20. juicystream

    juicystream Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2001
    Messages:
    30,606
    Likes Received:
    7,136
    If they don't call a phantom pass interference on the Seahawks on the Packers' TD drive, we might not be here either.
     

Share This Page

  • About ClutchFans

    Since 1996, ClutchFans has been loud and proud covering the Houston Rockets, helping set an industry standard for team fan sites. The forums have been a home for Houston sports fans as well as basketball fanatics around the globe.

  • Support ClutchFans!

    If you find that ClutchFans is a valuable resource for you, please consider becoming a Supporting Member. Supporting Members can upload photos and attachments directly to their posts, customize their user title and more. Gold Supporters see zero ads!


    Upgrade Now