1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Seattle isn't over it.

Discussion in 'NBA Dish' started by rolyat93, Jun 12, 2012.

Tags:
  1. rolyat93

rolyat93 Contributing Member

2. ScriboErgoSum

ScriboErgoSum Contributing Member

It really sucks having a team stolen from your city. The Oilers leaving Houston killed professional football for me. By far, I was an Oilers fan first and foremost growing up. After they left, I really had no allegiance other than rooting against the Titans. That was about the time I started following the Rockets closely instead of just as a casual fan.

Now as a Seattle resident, I probably root against the Thieves more than any other team in the NBA (kind of in a tie with the Lakers, Heat, and Jazz). I'm lucky that I'm a Rocket fan, and it's just city pride. I didn't have my favorite team lured away from home base. I know so many people here that have given up on basketball. Taking potshots at OKC, Bennett, and Schultz is a fun local pastime.

This is such a depressing Finals for me. The Legion of Doom against the OKC Thieves.

3. Ricksmith

Ricksmith Contributing Member

I wouldn't be over it, either. Seattle fans watched 4 or 5 years of mediocre/bad basketball. OKC people watched 1 year of bad basketball, and are now annual contenders. This is like deja vu for me with the Oilers. It would have ripped our hearts out to see the Tennessee Oilers win the Super Bowl, although I'm sure there were some heartbroken fans still rooting for our old team. The Sonics/Thunder are now favorites to win this year, and will likely be favorites for many years to come. I like them, and I wish Kevin Durant the best, but I really feel for those people in Seattle.