1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Buying a property in US

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by rn_xw, Mar 2, 2011.

1. rn_xw

rn_xw Member

Hi guys,
    l live in Canada and last year, I made some money out of the stock market and wants to reinvest it somewhere else. So I was checking the houses in Florida and found out 400k can get you a really really nice beach house! You can barely get a 2bd room condo with that money in Vancouver.. So my question is, as a non-US residence, is there restrictions on buying properties? And..California or Florida? I'm an engineer, and I sometimes thought about finding a job in silicon valley, but I like the job I'm having now. Do you guys see potential in investing in Florida?

Thanks!

2. vlaurelio

vlaurelio Contributing Member

1 person likes this.
  3. Prince

Prince Member

I have canadian friends here that own properties. Americans just care about if you can pay or not.

4. rn_xw

rn_xw Member

Thanks for the sites. Repped!

5. Xerobull

Xerobull You son of a b!tch! I'm in!

You may want to look in to a beach house in Galveston instead. $400k can get you a mansion there, so spending half that will get you a very nice beach house on the West End. And it's close to Houston, where you can catch some Rox games.

6. rn_xw

rn_xw Member

Was the price always this low or it was caused by the recession? Thanks

7. JuanValdez

JuanValdez Contributing Member

8. AMS

AMS Contributing Member

lol, welcome to Texas

9. Xerobull

Xerobull You son of a b!tch! I'm in!

Prices have always been good compared to the national average. But obviously, recession has impacted it.

I lived in Galveston until 2008. Last month my wife went to visit family in FL and said the prices of everything were outrageous compared to Galveston.

10. Pole