1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

The Jeremy Pena Thread

Discussion in 'Houston Astros' started by Rockets34Legend, Mar 25, 2022.

1. Buck Turgidson

I think the Stros will be alright.

MrBear1 and Snake Diggit like this.
  2. jayfree

jayfree Member

OPS is a good tool. Frankly, I'm a statistician from the 90s so usually stick with my guns on the numbers. Can't seem to gravitate to this new hip way of doing things yet ;)

3. H-Town Info

H-Town Info Member

4. Marshall Bryant

Supporting Member

I'll go to step 1 for me. PA over AB; then OBP over BA. Back in the mid 2000s, I equated Outs above average with hits above average as an early total player value comp. I never got into the minutia, but I was into the general concepts.

5. Marshall Bryant

Supporting Member

The look of Metzger and Everett. Looks good, but smooth.

Correa would have made a diving stop and gunned it to 1B at 95 MPH. Same result, but Correa's would have looked much more spectacular. Jeter would have just watched it so he wouldn't pick up the error.

Jeter would win the GG. He saved his diving plays for balls hit within 5 feet of where he started.

13 in 33 likes this.
  6. Marshall Bryant

Supporting Member

7. Marshall Bryant

Supporting Member

I just watched a Correa highlight play. Almost the same play Pena made and sure enough, Correa dived for the ball, sprang to his feet and made the play just just as I predicted two paragraphs above. LOL!

8. The Real Shady

The Real Shady Contributing Member

Anybody know what kind of draft pick compensation you get now for having a rookie finish in the top 3?

VI. Service Time Manipulation

The top two players in Rookie of the Year voting must receive at least a full year of service time, regardless of when they were called up.