1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Teachers

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout: Debate & Discussion' started by DudeWah, Sep 16, 2015.

1. DFWRocket

DFWRocket Member

My wife actually has the same undergraduate degree as me. It is reasonable to assume she would have been on a similar pay scale path as me if she would not had gone in to teaching. I am NOT a high-wage earner, but I do make more than the U.S. average. I know what my estimated social security is because I receive a statement from the SS office every year detailing my payments and estimated benefits. As a teacher, my wife receives a TRS statement estimating her benefit payments. This is how I know for a fact that her payment will be less than my social security.

superfob likes this.
  2. juicystream

juicystream Contributing Member

Pretty much all government jobs are capped. Here's the local government work where I live:

https://openpayrolls.com/rank/highest-paid-employees/georgia-houston-county-board-of-education
    https://openpayrolls.com/rank/highest-paid-employees/houston-county-ga
    https://openpayrolls.com/rank/highest-paid-employees/central-georgia-technical-college
    https://openpayrolls.com/rank/highest-paid-employees/middle-georgia-state-university
    https://www.fedsdatacenter.com/federal-pay-rates/index.php?y=2020&n=&l=WARNER+ROBINS&a=&o=

Here's the salary table for most white collar federal workers (1.5M of them)

https://www.opm.gov/policy-data-ove...ies-wages/salary-tables/22Tables/html/GS.aspx

You can go higher if you reach the senior executive level, like my mom (an Aerospace Engineer), but there are only about 8K positions, with the vast majority in DC.

https://www.opm.gov/policy-data-ove...es/salary-tables/22Tables/exec/html/SLST.aspx