1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Astros 2021 Season General Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'Houston Astros' started by Snake Diggit, Apr 15, 2021.

1. cmlmel77

cmlmel77 Up all Night Watching Houston Sports

That seems like an understatement! Might that sentiment, which feels personal from a distance at least, be coloring your opinions?

I have zero knowledge of the Goldstein situation, and am neutral on Click given he hasn't really done anything either way, but I'm enjoying the hell out of this team, feel good about the future, and don't see an obvious mistakes (Baez is the obvious one, but imagine a very conceivable scenario where he is healthy and a highly reliable 8th inning guy ... the team would be almost flawless now that Straw is hitting a little).

jiggyfly and raining threes like this.
  2. raining threes

It's not personal with Goldstein. I dont know the man. I just dont think it's a good idea to let the man go that is responsible for most of the young talent that you see on the field every night when we watch the Stros, because he mainly works from home in Georgia. Which he's done for years, particularly during a pandemic. I'm of the belief that you hire talented people and let them do their jobs and that doesn't have to be in person. You can do this virtually. Make no mistake Goldstein is very talented at his job.

I'm glad you can see the mistakes. BTW, doing nothing is a mistake.

3. xcrunner51

xcrunner51 Contributing Member

If your expectation is a few more championships during the current competitive window, there's no way you're going to be anything but disappointed.