1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Porter’s Effort Level

Discussion in 'Houston Rockets: Game Action & Roster Moves' started by Imanimal, Apr 10, 2021.

1. coachbadlee

coachbadlee Member

They're not. Imagine switching John Wall with Chris Paul and drafting Cade and a good rebounding big man in this upcoming draft. Then they'll be right back in the mix.

2. Mathloom

Mathloom Contributing Member

I'm not predicting that he's going to become amazingly motivated. I don't even know what he did in Cleveland but I bet it's just flashes. I'm saying it's possible

I understand mental composition (through several family members and partners and because i create realistic characters for a living) enough to know that it's incorrect to see it as: we are going to unlock him or he can't be unlocked. Most managers can only motivate with a carrot/stick approach (money or job longevity) and once they run into a person that isn't receptive to that, they call them a failure or - ironically - lazy. This is a really amateur approach to things and totally ignores that people like KPJ have higher ceilings and lower salary costs, they become the engines of the systems they lead reducing pressure on everyone else. These types of people are treasures waiting to be unlocked and sometimes that doesn't happen.

He's still a coin flip for us. If we were coached by a Phil Jackson - a mediocre tactician but highly advanced psychological motivator - I would have high hopes. Those coaches are hard to find though and don't thrive in rebuilding situations. Silas is a players coach but not an advanced motivator by the looks of it.