1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

2. Watching NBA Action
    Come join Clutch as we're watching NBA Play-In Tournament action live ...

LIVE: NBA Playoffs!
    Dismiss Notice

Stock investments

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout: Debate & Discussion' started by steveng125, Apr 8, 2020.

1. steveng125

steveng125 Member

I’m new to the stock market and trying to learn the game. Yesterday, I invested in some ford motor stock because it was pretty low and thinking about investing in Uber, MGM, and United Airlines.

what are some stocks y’all are investing in?

I’m looking to get everyone’s input on companies, trends, long-term investments.

2. Ubiquitin

Ubiquitin Contributing Member
    Supporting Member

Time in market is generally better than timing of market. The house always wins.

No Worries likes this.
  3. Sajan

Sajan Member

No Worries and steveng125 like this.
  4. No Worries

No Worries Contributing Member

I would suggest dollar cost investing (eg invest 10% of what you got over a 10 months period) in a total market ETF like VTI. Be prepared to loose your ass in the short term (30-50%) but win in the long term (10+ years).

5. No Worries

No Worries Contributing Member

Ziggy and Sajan like this.
  6. Dairy Ashford

Dairy Ashford Member

Find out what your actual financial goal is (specific dollar amount by a certain age or year), reduce your expected annual return to 1.8% (1966 - 1982), then increase your monthly spend accordingly.