1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

2. Watching NBA Action
    Come join Clutch as we're watching NBA Play-In Tournament action live ...

LIVE: NBA Playoffs!
    Dismiss Notice

Why is Gary Johnson not the best candidate?

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout: Debate & Discussion' started by Two Sandwiches, Aug 9, 2016.

Tags:
  1. dharocks

dharocks Contributing Member

I'm not a proponent of a $15 (federal) minimum wage, but this was a pretty batty argument against it, IMO:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/pQe_48ALjLQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Also not a fan of his foreign policy. I believe intervention is necessary at times.

If you're not an ultra-small government fiscal conservative, I don't see what Johnson really offers other than someone who isn't Clinton or Trump. I'm fine with HRC.

2. Bobbythegreat

Bobbythegreat Member
    Supporting Member

I see that as a solid argument on his part and a lot of naivete on the part of the woman giving the interview. Thinking that Taco Bell or Burger King would just decide to eat those losses with a minimum wage increase is pretty hilarious. It would certainly lead to a mix of automation eliminating jobs and an increase in prices. The notion that minimum wage increases lead to more buying power in all but the short term is kind of funny.

I mean, that's really the problem isn't it? When people see the same issues so differently, it's hard to find middle ground.

3. CCorn

CCorn Member

I'm voting for him

4. sirbaihu

sirbaihu Member

"Let the market decide" is an insane argument for the average person. The market will find the lowest possible wage that can attract employees. Quality of life suffers.