1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

[NEWB] PC BUILD

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by FlyerFanatic, Nov 30, 2013.

1. FlyerFanatic

FlyerFanatic YOU BOYS LIKE MEXICO!?! YEEEHAAWW
    Supporting Member

so think my comp is beginning to crap out on me. thinking i'm going to take a shot at building one myself. a few questions:

1. whats the best guide to use for a total newbie? i know newegg has some videos which are supposedly good. i think pcmech has a pretty good build tutorial. any other recs?

2. i'm looking to spend about $800- 1,000 for the build, if it can come out less, even better. i was looking at doing something like this: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2bcow

keep in mind the PC i'm coming from is numerous years old, specs basically being a duo core intel processor, 4 GB of ram, and a 1 GB vid card. so really any parts are going to be upgrades at this point lol

so i don't need the latest and greatest, going to an core i5 processor and like 8 gigs of ram will be just fine, don't need to trick it out to an i7 and like 16 GB ram or anything.

i would like it for gaming, an i5 and 8 gigs and a decent graphics card should be good enough to run games on high setting right?

i'm open for any/all suggestions, i had a friend say to maybe even look into buying a pre built system, said they can be pretty good for the price, but i havent looked into it. i'd assume building would allow to keep costs down?

but if you could please stick within the price range. i know you can always go better and every thread similar to these always has those comments.