1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Question for my fellow Asian Americans.

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by fchowd0311, Feb 25, 2013.

Tags:
  1. fchowd0311

fchowd0311 Contributing Member

Do you also get annoyed when someone asks you what your nationality is? Countless number of times I have been asked this question even after a small conversation where it is obvious with my slight southern accent that I was not born in another country. I have even been asked by people who already knew that I was a Marine Veteran!?!? Though to their defense they probably just do not know the difference in semantics between "nationality" and "ethnicity". For you white people out there. If you are speaking to an Asian American that has no semblance of a foreign accent and curious of their racial make up, ask them "What is your ETHNICITY?"!

2. underoverup

underoverup Member

It's difficult to tell some people apart I don't think most of those folks are being purposely insulting to you. It would be like trying to tell a Candian, British, South African, or Australian apart.

3. Anxiety Trooper

Lol. They asking you about your heritage.

4. fchowd0311

By all means you can be curious of my race. But if I'm speaking to you fora good five minutes you should have the deductive reasoning to conclude I am not a foreigner from the way I speak. Thus the proper question is not whether I am an American citizen(nationality) but my race(ethnicity).

5. Jontro

Jontro Member

I thought you can tell someone's British by looking at their teeth when they smile.

6. krnxsnoopy

krnxsnoopy Contributing Member

I get more annoyed by asians with southern accents. ;)

7. fallenphoenix

fallenphoenix Contributing Member