1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Terrence Jones: Tweener or Mismatch?

Discussion in 'NBA Draft' started by TheGoldenGreek, Mar 26, 2012.

1. TheGoldenGreek

I'm by no means an expert but I've watched Kentucky play a few games this season, including in person when they visited LSU. I was particularly impressed with his performance yesterday against Baylor. I'm starting to think Terrence Jones would be a nice fit for the Rockets.

The first thing that jumps out about Jones is his size. At 6' 9" with a wingspan of 7' 2" his measurements are eerily similar to Josh Smith of the Atlanta Hawks, a player frequently coveted on this forum. Jones is a very athletic player. This athleticism combined with his length translates to him being an effective finisher at the rim, an intimidating help-side shot blocker, and an aggressive rebounder. His versatility defensively is another aspect that adds value to his game as he can defend both the perimeter and the post. Jones played point guard in high school (where he led his team to 3 state championships) and he has maintained good ball handling skills, especially for someone of his size. His ball handling allows him to push the pace after rebounding and get into the open court where he excels in setting himself and teammates up for easy points. His offensive game centers mostly around a face-up style similar to Josh Smith.

The knock on Terrence Jones' game is his post game and inconsistent jump shot. These issues have him projected to be picked somewhere between 15-20 in the NBA draft. It should be noted that despite his deficiencies in these areas, he has averaged 13 ppg on 50% shooting this season which suggests he has found ways to score points and with an NBA training regimen could blossom into a nice offensive player.