1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Why Yao still needs to be limited

Discussion in 'Houston Rockets: Game Action & Roster Moves' started by RV6, Nov 3, 2010.

1. RV6

RV6 Contributing Member

A lot of fans believe limiting Yao's minutes creates a chemistry issue. I think it's a valid point, so i'm not questioning it. However, many also believe the solution is to just play him without limits, since he has "healed". The popular concern seems to be he'll have another stress fracture, if the limit is lifted. Now i'm not a doctor or a med student, so i definitely hope to hear from others with more medical experience, but i think i've learned enough to to clarify some things and bring up a certain point:

Yao's surgery wasnt simply to fix a stress fracture. Many here still believe that's what it was for and he just needed to rehab enough to let it heal. In reality there were 2 parts to the surgery. One was to help the fracture heal by using a bone graft. The other part is what some tend to overlook and forget. He had certain bones re-aligned to lower his arch, so that hopefully he won't have another stress fracture in the future.