1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

[Rant] Screwed by Bank of America

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by SirCharlesFan, Jun 20, 2008.

Tags:
  1. SirCharlesFan

SirCharlesFan Contributing Member

I'm a college student. I wait tables to make money.

Earlier this week, I had a checking account balance of approximately $400. I went to the bank in the afternoon, deposited $310 cash. Later that afternoon, I went to the ATM, withdrew $50. My ATM receipt showed an available balance of $675.75. At this point, I decided to go ahead and pay my rent for next month two weeks early. I had no reason to pay the rent two weeks early other than I just wanted to pay it. My rent is $475/mo. Later that day, I made a couple of small purchases, totaling approximately $10.

This morning, I wake up, shocked to see that my bank account showed a balance of negative $1.98. I also noticed my credit card was maxed out and actually slightly over the limit. Immediately I thought that my identity had been stolen or a bunch of unauthorized purchases had been made with my debit/credit card numbers. I checked my account details and was shocked at what I saw. I was hit with three overdraft fees of $35/each. Additionally, my credit card was immediately assessed a $10 fee because I have overdraft protection hooked up to my BOA credit card, which takes my debit card purchases and puts them on my credit card if my checking account funds are too low. My credit card is now over the limit due to this, which means I'll get hit with another fee.