1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Could McHale coach Jeremy Tyler?

Discussion in 'Houston Rockets: Game Action & Roster Moves' started by Believe, Jun 13, 2011.

1. Believe

Believe Contributing Member

Kevin Mchale is said to be a great teacher of Big Men. Able to teach, motivate and lead young Big's. If so, should The Rox be looking at Jeremy Tyler for the 23rd pick?

I am no expert on gauging talent. Just a huge fan with a love for the game and most of all The Houston Rockets.

Based on certain articles that I have read... Tyler would be a smart move based on the following (Obviously... only if, these opinions are ring true):

- (NBADRAFT.NET) "If you look at the basic facts, what's not to like about Tyler? He's 6'10, weighs 250, has a 7’5 wingspan and is an oozing with potential. He runs like a thoroughbred, jumps like a kangaroo and already at 19 has the strength of an NBA veteren. He grew up around the game so he has a good feel and was also considered the number one player in his class in each of his first three years of high school. Is it possible that he just became lazy because he wasn't being challenged and disciplined off the court? Is he really a lost cause?"

This is where Mchale's ability with Big's comes in..

- (More from the article) "When Jeremy gets to the pros, he could really use a mentor such as the great Kareem Abdul-Jabbar. Kareem did a fantastic job schooling Andrew Bynum, and would certainly command the respect of any young player that truly wants to be indoctrinated in the game of basketball."

Based on his workout videos and articles read.. he obviously has skills that MAY translate to the NBA in a big way. However, he may need some REAL Leaders to guide him along the way.