1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

So I'm running a 5K....

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by cson, Aug 21, 2009.

1. cson

cson Contributing Member

I know, not much distance, but i'm a beginner so it's a start. Not my first time to run though, I first ran at about 14 months old. This is however my first "competitive" type run. I've been doing 5-6 miles a week for awhile so this will be a bit of a stretch for me as far as distance (all at one time.) Again I'm a beginner. I've got 4 weeks to the race. Any runners w/ any good advice?

2. Fatty FatBastard

The loop around Memorial park is 5k, so if you'd like to practice how you'll do, try that.

3. DonnyMost

DonnyMost not wrong
    Supporting Member

Get a good solid pair of running shoes.

There's a store near Memorial (like fatty suggested) called Finish Strong Sports that will fit you out for free.

4. juicystream

juicystream Contributing Member

I was a cross country runner in High School. The thing about distance running is that it is mostly mental. Just keep telling yourself don't stop, and you will make it. Remember to keep a steady pace, you will catch up to those who sprint ahead. And then just focus on passing them one by one. My first 5k time was 26:55 on a flat course, but I had never run more than a mile before. In four months I was running them in under 21 minutes. I'd go ahead and try to run a few practice 5ks and then some. In preparing for a 5k I usually tried doing about 4 miles a day. Two days before the race I would do a light 2 miles, and then a light 1 mile the day before.

If you are going to be doing a lot more running, make sure you visit a runner's store and get some premium shoes. Its really important to preserve your knees/back.