1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Astronomy Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by OrangeCountyCA, Jun 17, 2007.

1. OrangeCountyCA

This is my first time starting a thread for a very long time. But I'd like to start a specific thread for the Astronomy junkies like me.
    For the past several months, ever since aquiring a deep interest in science of space, I have been browsing astronomy related websites, particulary wikipedia, to get my fix.
    I decided to create a thread here, so I can discuss what ever I have learned so far, and hopefully gain new insight, from others interested in the subject.
    Some of the topics that we can discuss include:

1. The creation of the Universe (the "Big Bang" theory)
    2. Possibility of life in other Planets.
    3. Facts about our solar system and its planets.
    4. Discussion of Celestial Objects (Stars, Planets, Galaxies, comets, etc.)
    5. Other lesser known objects in the Universe (Black Holes, Black/Dark Matter, Super Massive Stars etc.)

So please feel free to share whatever area of interest, if any, that you have.
    Also, if you think that no one else in this forum has interest in astronomy, please let me know. ;)

2. OrangeCountyCA

3. DaDakota

DaDakota If you want to know, just ask!

I love Astronomy, I remember when I first met my wife, I leaned in real close and said "Hey baby, what's your sign"

Astronomy rocks.....

Da Virgo Dakota

4. Matchman

Matchman Contributing Member

what are all those planets after the sun? :confused:
    i am very very interested in astronomy but my high school life will end in two weeks with exactly 3 days in science classes talking about the solar system.

5. R0ckets03

R0ckets03 Contributing Member

I believe those are other stars in the Milky Way.