1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

I Want to Be the Next Daryl Morey

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by hjg877, Nov 9, 2009.

1. hjg877

hjg877 Member

Okay, it's entirely unrealistic. But even the great Daryl Morey didn't grow up thinking "I Want to Be the Next Red Auerbach" (then again, by the age of five he probably figured the odds were in his favor :( ).

Let me give a brief description of my current situation: I'm a college graduate on a "career hiatus," trying to map things out and decide the next step in life. I spent nearly two years working part time as a bartender as well as interning for athletic teams and a couple other organizations. I could just as easily have stayed in Florida and remained a bartender indefinitely (like some friends), but you know what? I don't see the long-term value in that. I'm not trying to stay somewhere and hang out with a non-career job (like many of my friends).

Basically, I want to be doing something that will help me "get there" in life. Ideally I would be working full-time within a valuable organization, but there's not much available at the moment. I have a positive outlook, which leads me to look at graduate school. Currently I'm studying for the GMAT, planning to do well (hopefully) when I take it in December.

What Would Daryl Morey Do?

That's a guy right there who was uber-intelligent, going from Northwestern to MIT. He had tons of intellectual research that landed him with the Celtics and the rest is history.

Me? I took a handful of general business classes in undergrad and didn't understand a damn thing when I took my only mathematics course (Finite). I'm not saying I couldn't try to learn, but...what should I be looking to pursue for a graduate degree? Statistics? Calculus? Applied Statistics? Accounting?