1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

changing careers

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by Chamillionaire, Nov 1, 2009.

Tags:
?

changing careers?

1. now is the time

15 vote(s)
    34.9%
  2. wait til the recession recovers

19 vote(s)
    44.2%
  3. continue working a job you don't want to do

9 vote(s)
    20.9%
  1. Chamillionaire

with the economy the way it is, and the way the companies aren't hiring, rather restructuring, is it a good time to change careers? i'm in education now but would like to venture out to recruiting or finance. i have a marketing degree.

2. wekko368

wekko368 Member

How are you qualified to go into finance? Do you plan on going back to school? Pursue any certifications?

3. BrownBeast99

BrownBeast99 Member

Need a little more info to accurately assess your situation.

4. RedRedemption

RedRedemption Contributing Member

I say wait out for the recession to be completely over. You can't risk your stable income atm. (Of course, if you aren't making a stable income... then feel free to switch!)

5. fadeaway

fadeaway Contributing Member

If you are having trouble getting a decent job (like I was) then now is a good time to go back to school and get more education/qualifications (like I am).

6. Chamillionaire

never thought of it like that, now really is a good time to go back to school and maybe get my masters or MBA, the situation is i've been teaching for 5 years and i want to quit ASAP, don't ask me how i got into the job, it just kinda fell into my lap. i wasn't planning on teaching, just happened. now i need to get back into business.

no, not qualified for finance. no certifications.

thanks for everyone's opinions.

7. wekko368

wekko368 Member