1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Expanding Memory in Sony Laptop - Help

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by JayZ750, Aug 27, 2007.

1. JayZ750

JayZ750 Contributing Member

So my wife has gone out of control over the last year or so and now her sony laptop computer is almost full. it's only a couple of years old.

69 GB used, just under 0.5GB free.

this has caused the computer to slow down a fair bit. the computer has 1.0 GB of RAM and a 1.73 GHz processor.

I'm no computer expert, but my guess is that for the most part, the computer is fine, just need to expand some memory, which is something I can't do personally.

My questions:

1. Will expanding hard-drive help?
    2. Will expanding RAM help?
    3. Is there anything else I should do?
    4. With what I should do, how is the best way to find someone to do it? Is there a computer store out there? Geek Squad? Where would be cheapest place to get the parts?

EDIT: I do have backup storage, and she could probably delete a bit of stuff she doesn't used, but probably getting to the point of need for extra memory anyway.

#1 JayZ750, Aug 27, 2007
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2007
  2. DaDakota

DaDakota If you want to know, just ask!

It seems you are not out of memory you are out of hard disk space.

Memory will help some, but not so much......1 gig should be enough, IMO, unless you are running Vista.

You can get a bigger HDD but why not just get a back up disk and drop the stuff you don't need on it?

DD

3. professorjay

professorjay Contributing Member

Agree w/ DaDakota. It's probably good to have around 2 gb free so that the hd doesn't become a bottleneck. I just pulled that number out of the air so take it w/ a grain of salt.