1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

[work advice] Facing bullying, should I stay at my current job?

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by W22_STREAK, Jul 19, 2015.

1. W22_STREAK

W22_STREAK Member

Hi Clutchfans.

The issue I have is about bullying at work.

Normally I probably wouldn't post anything like this for fear of embarassment and pride, but I convinced myself what is there to lose on an internet message board. So I would just like to ask for some advice from you guys about my current work situation.

I graduated from an associate degree in Civil Engineering at the middle of last year. Applied for jobs and started at this current company in August last year.

It is a small company(civil engineering laboratory) where we do physical testing of quarry aggregates (rocks) and soils for their quality assurance. So the aggregates/soils can be sold for the purposes of construction of roads and highways. There are 8 of us technicians who do the actual testing, plus 1 supervisor, 1 manager.

It is an all-male environment, ranging from the age of 19 to 25.

Soon after I started the job I began to get bullied by this fellow technician. He is white and I am a local, but of Asian descent. He is the "alpha-male" of among us technicians, always the life of the party, telling jokes, teasing people to make everyone laugh, dominates conversation, issuing orders around, etc, basically the stuff the alpha-male does in a group of young males scenario. Most of our colleagues obviously follows along with him and laughs at all his jokes, and perhaps even adore him somewhat.