1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Were You Paddled In School?

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by gifford1967, Dec 15, 2004.

Tags:
  1. gifford1967

gifford1967 Contributing Member
    Supporting Member

When I was in Jr. High at Pershing and in Highschool at Lamar we could be paddled by teachers, coaches, or principals. And I'm talking about hard paddling with a big wooden paddle. I graduated from Lamar in '86. I can't imagine that this is still going on and I'm curious about when this practice was stopped in HISD. Did other people here go to schools where paddling was allowed?

#1 gifford1967, Dec 15, 2004
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2004
  2. RocketMan Tex

RocketMan Tex Contributing Member

Johnston Junior High 1973-1976.
    Bellaire Senior High 1976-1979.

And I got red-assed at least once each year, usually for getting caught smoking during gym class. Once for setting off bottle rockets in the hallway (freshman year at Bellaire).

I can still hear Mr. Gregory's voice..."what the HELL is the matter with you, boy???"

3. LonghornFan

LonghornFan Contributing Member

I was routinely paddled in middle school. Mr. A at Parkview intermediate and Coach Allen seemed to enjoy this ritual. Longhornfan spent many afternoons trying to sit on one cheek after meeting the hand carved paddles they owned.

Good times.

4. gifford1967

Supporting Member

What years?

5. pasox2

pasox2 Contributing Member
    Supporting Member

Sure. Graduated 1 year early - 83. It was reasonably effective. Bring it back.

Go ahead and put all the no waiver kids in exile. You don't want them.

Can you attach a poll?

6. gifford1967

Supporting Member