1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Want to build a gaming PC for $500-550

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by epicbeardabe, Feb 8, 2014.

1. epicbeardabe

epicbeardabe Contributing Member

I want to build a gaming PC for around $500-550 and I have very little knowledge about computers and what parts I should be picking. I'm not super interested in the current gaming consoles (PS4, XB1) outside of 3rd party games so I want to be able to run most of those games on my PC at a good frame rate and want them looking similar to the current gen consoles. Do you guys have any suggestions on parts or websites I should be looking at? And is my budget too low to achieve what I'm asking?

Thanks in advance.

2. Svpernaut

Svpernaut Contributing Member

As long as the price doesn't include monitor, keyboard and mouse - you can build a mid-level gaming PC based at current hardware levels for about 500-600 bucks. Your video card is going to eat up the biggest chunk of the pie, followed closely by your processor. Memory is cheap, as are platter hard drives. If you can afford it - I'd suggest a solid state drive, it makes a world of difference in gaming.

EDIT: I forgot to mention that the Build A PC subreddit is pretty great - http://www.reddit.com/r/buildapc/

EDIT 2: When shopping for parts, use PC Part Picker - Their "Price Drop" and "Complete Builds" sections give good insight at some values to be had.

EDIT 3: A month ago this guy was able to build a pretty amazing PC for 1080p 60fps PC for $410 (minus the Windows 7 license). Some of the parts are even cheaper now. http://www.reddit.com/r/buildapc/comments/1td9iy/build_complete_500_including_os_1080_ultra/

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

Total: $389.90

#2 Svpernaut, Feb 8, 2014